Wallet Losing 10% Value Normal???

in #steemit8 years ago

I'm pretty new to this site, and when I signed up I transferred about $100 worth of BTC over to Steem power. After using the site the past couple of weeks, my wallet estimated value was hovering around $108 for a few days. However, now it is $99? How is it possible to have less than what I started with on this site? Especially a 10% decrease in a matter of days, at that? Something seems fishy about Steemit if everyone claims you have nothing to lose, yet my posts are not down voted or flagged and here I am losing. Am I missing something here?

Sort:  

Who claims you have nothing to lose? Let me at them so I can go flag them. They're lying. If you brought your own money to the table here, you have all that money to lose. I'm sorry if people misled you into thinking this wasn't true.

The part where "nothing to lose" starts to be slightly more true is if you didn't buy your way into steem, but rather blogged your way into steem. Even then though, it takes a lot of time to write good content - so you're still risking your time.

You can follow the price of STEEM here. Buy low sell high.

https://www.tradingview.com/chart/kbo9sERt/

Don't assume that every body can do that. Define low and high and will do it.

Yes it's completely normal, your money has been converted to STEEM.(STEEM POWER to be precise). STEEM value change with time, it can go up or down, at the moment it's going down .... Fortunately, you didn't invest too much, as you don't really know where you have put your money .... and by the way your money is stuck for the next 2 years (in case you didn't know) .... You can recover 104/nth of it every week by "powering down" .....
There is nothing fishy about it, it's like the stock market, sometimes it goes up, sometimes it goes down ...
And relax, you just lost 10%, I lost more then 50 % .... still hoping ...

Thank you, this reply was helpful. I do know it takes 2 years to 100% withdraw the amount I deposited, I guess I'm stuck wondering why I deposited it in the first place- it seems when I upvote something it, it does nothing to the value of the post. I guess I'm more so kicking myself in the ass for sending BTC to my account for nothing, just to sit for a while.

Your upvote doesn't do anything to the value of the post, because your STEEM POWER is too low .... My STEEMP POWER is about 800, and when I upvote you get 0.01$ ....
Maybe in two years the value of STEEM will have change for the better ... let's hope ;-)

Steem is a currency.

Currencies can fluctuate in value, especially new ones like steem.

I think that if you invested some money, your steem power should be worth more voting power. IMHO. I started "aux natural" at $5, it's gone up $1.50 in two weeks. My voting power usually hovers around .01, but sometimes I swear I see people's money go up .20 cents when I vote...And then other times I get voted for by people with more SP than you, and my vote only goes up .10 cent. Not sure why the inconsistency. Yours should matter a lot more. But as far as the 10% drop, that's a bummer. Keep writing articles. Just pump them out daily or every couple days. You'll get some votes even if just small. Build a following, post good content, vote people up. You'll get it back quick.

Congratulations @mrbastillio! You have received a personal award!

Happy Birthday - 1 Year on Steemit Happy Birthday - 1 Year on Steemit
Click on the badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.

For more information about this award, click here

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Congratulations @mrbastillio! You have received a personal award!

2 Years on Steemit
Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.

Do you like SteemitBoard's project? Then Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Congratulations @mrbastillio! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 3 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 59893.00
ETH 2414.92
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43