PROJECT STEEM T-SHIRT: THE SAMPLES HAVE BEEN ORDERED!

in #steemit6 years ago (edited)

After working 10 hour days and studying the same topic for 3 hours each night in preparation for what will likely be the last academic exam of my life, I've been using my spare time during my commute to just shut my brain down and listen to some music, so I haven't been able to type post as frequently as I wished. But I want to keep you guys updated with the STEEM t shirt project. Many of you guys have provided great commentary and support for this project, so here is the next update!

THE STEEM SHIRT

@edgecelize and I modified the logo based on comments about the digital noise cloud that hovers over the steem logo. We cleaned the logo up and tried playing around with the colors as well as the layout on the shirt (large logo, medium or small etc). There are many small items that I couldn't iron out so I ended up ordering a few samples to see what can actually be produced.

Photo Layout

Here are some layout photos of the shirt with a variety of colors (including the Steemit teal color).

What do you guys think of the shirt design and placement?
What colors do you think would fit?
Should I add the words STEEM somewhere?
What color works best?

steem1.jpg

steem2.jpg

steem3.jpg

steem4.jpg

I ordered a sample t shirt

Having never actually created a t shirt, there was a lot of research involved since there are litterally hundreds of stock shirts to choose from and multiple ways to get the graphic on the shirt. Some of the problems that I'm looking to address is:

  • How do we achieve the fine lines of the digital circuit board effect?
  • How durable is the logo after repeated washing
  • Should I go with a thin or thicker shirt? (which is given in ozs of the shirt)

The answer would be to simply order a shirt and figure out how it looks and feels IN REAL LIFE.

Chosing the Shirt

Choosing the t shirt was the first step and that's when I found out that there are different grades of cottons, primarily regular cotton that consist of varying fiber lengths and diameters which have been spun together to create the threads. This is the cheapest option by far, and I've actually gone through all of my old clothing to figure out how my shirts have worn over the years. It happens that the cheap t shirt is quite durable but the material has gotten really tough and hard over the years, so regular cotton was immediately out the door. I want you guys to own a shirt that will last, because for many of us, we are living through a brand new era, where we want to remember the first editions of whatever it is that we buy to memorialize the event!

Instead, I went with the premium cottons which are created out of cotton threads made solely from the softer, longer fibers.

The choice ended up being a Hyanes 4.5oz ringspun cotton t shirt. This is a fashion fit t shirt that's a bit more conforming to the body, (or so it was advertised). The 4.5oz is lighter than the standard beefy 6oz t shirt, which I think will be too hot for most people wearing the shirt in the summertime.

The Logo Print

There are classic ways to get the artwork such as screen printing, but the durability was questionable and the upfront cost was simply too high. Then there was the transfer sheets which are placed on the shirt, and then ironed on. While this was much more affordable, it lacked the detail necessary for the fine detailed lines. There is also dye sublimation which is extremely popular right now, but it does not work on cotton shirts since it requires a synthetic material to transfer the color.

That leaves only 1 other option, direct to garment printing, or DTG. This is actually one of the cheapest options, but it's also one of the most dynamic solutions since you can print one-off shirts easily. They also have a huge dynamic range of colors and detail.

For large scale production, it is the most expensive unforunately, but this is why we purchaed a few samples. Stay tuned for photos of the sample soon, they are due to arrive next week on monday, March 5th!

Sort:  

giphy.gif

Thats a cool idea :) like it

Nice move @motoengineer I like the t-shirt design it's lovely and a bit simple. Why not create like two more design that we can choose from?

Designing t shirts is definitely a lot of work if you are attempting to achieve more than just a typical look. If this project picks up well, and is well recieved, then I'm definitely going to Start with more designs!

hola amigo mi nombre es virginiana soy Venezolana y me gustaria que me dieran ideas de como poder invertir mejor mi sbd para multiplicarlo se ve atractivo este smart bod pero no tengo idea de como hacer saludos amigo y te agradezco la informacion que me puedas brindar para crecer en steemit

I didn’t have time to add my thoughts before and just replied out of FOMO. Please see below for my two sense/cents (I still haven’t googled which is correct.)

What do you guys think of the shirt design and placement?
What colors do you think would fit?
Should I add the words STEEM somewhere?
What color works best?

I like the two black versions shown! But I think a white shirt with a blue logo is missing. I get the green Steemit color on the STEEM style logo but still think that a blue on white version is almost necessary.

As for the text, I think on one of the sleeves -discreet yet noticeable- would be a good spot to write STEEM.

The sleeves, I'm gonna need to get a price on that. But I did order the blue on white! I can't wait for those samples to arrive. I think the white will really pop. But I'm anti white t shirts. I stain those bad boys in 2 seconds.

Second the sleeve text idea that would look pretty cool

Should it be the words steem? Or steem.io?

My vote would be steem

i was just thinking the sleeve, text would be hard to see, but if you wore it on the back-neck line, people would be hmmm whats that?

Maybe it should be the words STEEMIT?

The logo looks so fierce and beautiful .. and the shirt looks cool... how can I order for one

Thanks! I'll update in my next posts on ordering!

This is great. You can see the time and attention you put into it, and it seems to have a lot of community support and interest. Looking forward to checking out the finished product!

Or, I was also thinking of having it right on the back where the shirt hugs your neck. But for women, it would be hidden. The text would be about 2 inches tall max. On the sleeve it would be a out 1 inch tall.

Thanks man! It's been a slow roll out, but I think this will be an awesome shirt that's actually really cool to wear! Adding in the steem text might stir up conversation if someone asks "what's steem?"

I like the back idea too based on that description. At least for myself, I would be curious enough to look it up or ask after seeing a few shirts around, and having the text visible saves the trouble of asking.

Those look great! I'd love to feature this in a post about an initiative @el-cr and myself have created, called #wearyoursteem! I'd love to use one of your images for a collage. Would you allow that?

The tag will be a way for people to share how they wear their STEEM to proudly promote this amazing platform to those around them.

Check out @el-cr's post announcing the beginning of the tag!

yes, you may use one of my images for your collage. OSS!!! (BJJ guys here too!)

@motoengineer this designs are very very cool! I love the Steem Crypto style man! Excellent initiative... do you have any plan for massive adoption? =) Will steemers be able to purchase them? have you thought about it?
I would love to wear one a tshirt with your design!
1
2
3...
Ooooss!

@motoengineer this designs are very very cool! I love the Steem Crypto style man! Excellent initiative... do you have any plan for massive adoption? =) Will steemers be able to purchase them? have you thought about it?
I would love to wear one a tshirt with your design!
1
2
3...
Ooooss!

thats right!

Dude you should open a shop on steemit. Sell those shirts! Look at those upvotes! Or are you already selling?

i am not selling these, yet. i have some samples coming in though! Will post updates soon on how they came out! seems like a lot of people are interested!

DO you need an online shop? Maybe make it like with sbd/steem payable

I do need one eventually. Id love to be able to create one that can connect with steem connect for payments! hmmm...

Dude what if i can help you? I can try make a web for you. But can i have some stake of those earnings?

@motoengineer ...thats supercool....pretty amazing...kindly give me information about its avaliablity in the main market...i need one

wow,,this is post is a veery good
,

Be sure to follow me for more information!

This is really nice and cute.

That's a great idea to me

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63687.39
ETH 3309.68
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.93