How to be just a user of steemit

in #steemit8 years ago (edited)

I'm a reader - let me read the good posts!

There are many people who try to make a lot of money by posting a picture or writing longer posts with more pictures ( @mor). Some of them fail ( @mor :-)) and some don't (often those with the one picture). But if you fail is it really the time to just give up and stop visiting steemit? Well you probably still (sometimes) go to other social media even though you aren't the billionaire behind it. So what else is there to do on steemit? Well, there are the posts!

I want only to read good content. I don't have the money to buy enough steem power to be a good curator and I don't have the skills (as @stellabelle or @clains have) to get it through writing, so I decided that I will just be enjoying the fruits of other people's work. But how to do it?

Where are the interesting posts?

lookforec27d.gif

Not so long time ago I was about to quit steemit, because I was fed up with all those introductory posts that were just about some pretty girl getting money by saying that she is joining steemit. I have nothing against pretty girls I’m just absolutely not interested in this kind of information. So the trending section was pretty boring and the new/created section was just overflowing with posts - many not really interesting. So I tried to just keep checking on posts of several people that I found interesting, but it was pretty demanding and that is one thing that you don’t expect/want from a social media to be.

The feed section saved me!!

And then a miracle happened and someone created the feed section. I must say that I’m really excited about the feed section. I use it a lot and I also use other people's feed section to find new content and new people to follow.

thanksac7e6.gif

Some suggestions for further developement

"Tags following" = New posts from my favorite tags in my feed section?

I would appreciate a little bit more ordering in the tags. As I go after the content I find it quite annoying to have to scroll down through the tags to find the one I’m interested in.
It would be great if I could also follow tags? That in my feed section I would find all new posts from the tags I’m interested in and this way I could also more easily discover new interesting writers.

Easier way to find somebody on steemit

You talk with your fellow steemian and he tells you about a great post that the user @ThePerfectWriter just posted. And it happens that you’re just not following this particular steemian, but you want to read. Nowadays there are some quite clumsy ways how to find this post.

Either your friend sends you the link to the post (ok that’s just easy, but you might have talked about it while being offline) or you have to “hack” the system a little bit. You go to your personal section and rewrite your name in the URL to @ThePerfectWriter - and then you can find the post in her blog.

lookingfor

I find those ways a bit too complex for something so basic. So I believe there should be an easy search for the users which could ideally even hint the name that you’re searching. (I find it quite important as I don’t posses the photographic memory and the steemit names are sometimes quite difficult to remember :)).

Right now I’m following:

  • @clains - From start he created really interesting posts about philosophy that sparkle new ideas
  • @dantheman - As everybody knows he’s the main leader of the platform right now so his posts are quite often the game/steemit-changing ones.
  • @dana-edwards - She writes a lot about computer security (I study artificial intelligence so it is a very close field) and she’s just a perfect and profound writer. She often introduces some novel ideas, rewrites them in her own words and puts them into different perspectives.
  • @hr1 - Well he’s my boyfriend so I might be biased but he is a really good thinker too. He tries to look at all things from unknown perspectives (which sometimes angers me) but it really makes me reweight my opinions.
  • @sykochica - She is also a great writer and thinker and also her ideas quite well resonate with my world view so I am happy to see how other people tackle the questions that I’m also asking.
  • @gavvet - I love that he’s helping new users to get the attention and the posts that he’s promoting are often really good.
  • @anwenbaumeister - Just a great storyteller
  • @inboundinken - Great tips and also a great storyteller
    And few others...

What people do you follow?

I'm waiting for your tips how you find interesting posts!

PLAGEV02_dribble42d90.gif

The beautiful cartoon gifs are from: http://www.amelietourangeau.com/

Sort:  

I impressed your thoughts because everyone wants to make lot money from #steemit , but you have different thoughts . Appreciated !

Thanks for sharing your thoughts. Myself, I typically watch the New Posts page and upvote/comment on the ones I like. You're absolutely right about the Feed; my own's showed me interesting posts I otherwise would have missed.

So what kind of interesting content are you looking for? It is an essential question in order to get good recomendations... :)

I'll add a reply. This was meant to be just a thought about how the platform works..

Still, you end up with a question and ask for tips, so you should be expecting some advice, right?

I'm more interested in how people use the platform. And it was just a short post and I didn't want to cram it with questions and information just about me. (It could've been added, but I think to write it in the reply is also fine.)

Btw: I added the reply, so if you have some tips, I would be glad to hear them..

I added you to my "followed list".. :)

I'm interested in artificial (or any) intelligence, philosophy, alternative ways of living and thoughts on living...
I would appreciate tips on authors with posts in this direction.

But I'm also interested in what you look for on steemit, why do you come here..

I have read 10 really informative post this morning and im guilty of trying to get noticed, but im an entertainer. Who needs book when you have all this original content? Best of luck

I understand that you want to be heard. I also like if people react on my posts (even if they're as simple as this one).

But I also think that without the readers the whole thing doesn't make sense, so to have an easy way to find the good content is crucial for the platform to work.

I went through your feed and found two interesting authors, thanks :)

I appreciate that. Best wishes

Just so your link above works, its @sykochica (y instead of i).. thanks for the shout out! I love the idea of having tag filters on the feed, especially as the number of people followed increases.

Search in general seems to be one of the things lacking on Steemit right now, which I'm sure they have in the development pipeline. (Not meant as a complaint, just where things are.) Even trying to track down a post I had seen/upvoted 5 days ago is hard to dig out if I didn't have it bookmarked in a browser or something.

Lately, I've been following and reading a lot of content from @team-leibniz and @veralynn . One they have both been putting out are 'featured user' posts in which they highlight other users, which is an invaluable rabbit hole for me to find others that I'd not have come across on my own.

Other great writing on more my 'utopia' type topics have been @bleepcoin (loved this post why steemit is not utopia and you should be happy)and @kevinwong .

Oh thanks a lot for the tips and I'm sorry for the typo (that was exactly what I was talking about with the names, but I should have it checked).

No worries. It's a strange spelling. Thanks again for the shout out :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64455.55
ETH 3147.84
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.94