Steemit Minnows, Dolphins & Whales Status Icons/Badges

in #steemit8 years ago (edited)

After my last post focusing on designing a user friendly interface for a future mobile app, the idea of Steemit being a "social game" stuck with me. So I thought about developing some simple badges/icons displaying the current status for each member of the community depending on their SP. We all know these are unofficially known as minnows, dolphins & whales, but most users can't quickly identify who is exactly who just by looking at some numbers.

At first we can have the 3 common levels as seen below:



Let's see how they would look in my app mockup, including the progress bar in a darker tone of blue depending on each Steem Power. 


I think it would be great to add more different species based on power ranks to spice things up. I personally vote for having a jellyfish, what do you guys think?





Icons by Ed Harrison, Matthew Hall, & Mallory Hawes from the Noun Project

If you enjoyed this post you may also enjoy these ones:
Steemit Mobile App - UI Prototype
Steemit's Front Page UI Makeover - A Very Quick Mockup

Sort:  

I like the prototype mock-ups. A mobile version would be a great feature in the future. Should add 'friends' to the menu as well, as we should be notified when our 'friends' post, comment, or upvote. It would be even better if the fish/dolphin/whale icons were animated as well.

Thanks. Yes, I mostly based the mobile version mockup on current features and how to improve them, I've tried not to add anything extra since I'm not really familiar with all the upcoming features. You can check my previous post, it has a gif animation of the mockup.

Keep up the good work! Ideas like this let the Dev's know what we want and help them through the design and feature prioritization process.

Thanks for your comments, unfortunately I've spent a lot of work in my UI prototype mockup without much success (plenty of votes which is amazing but with no whale votes my effort is futile ). I'm not contributing any more of my time for now. I see 1 minute videos or copy & paste posts getting $2-3k only because a whale votes and that's just not fair. If after 30 minutes no whale (and there are very few...) upvotes your post you are doomed. Thank you very much for your kind comments though, I know all the upvotes I had appreciate how hard I worked and I know they wished to contribute more.

I really appreciate your words of encouragement, it's very hard for many of us creating what we feel it's good content (I know I worked all week on the UI mockup, I think people don't even understand how much work it involves) just to see it go almost unnoticed or unappreciated. Sadly that's because of the huge power whales have in my opinion. I really don't post for them at all but the reality is that if you don't get one single upvote from one of them (there are 20-30 of them max) you won't succeed.

Thanks again for your support, I'm following you, hopefully they implement this feature soon.

@moonjelly Don't share for the whales. Share for yourself and the community you will find by reaching out. I am now a fan and will be looking for your posts in the future. Stay true.

Here's a perfect example of a completely ignored post with a lot of hard work put into it...so unfair: https://steemit.com/steemit/@millen/steempages-com-a-steemit-business-and-project-directory-beta

Love it good idea on darkening the blue. And where the hell is our app?!!!! I'm really surprised we don't have one yet?! Any follow up or reason we don't have one yet?

Thanks man, honestly I'm not sure if there's an actual official app in development (I know...).

There has been some proposals lately, one called Steemy that got plenty of attention and you can check my UI proposal I did on a previous post.

I saw steemy post and I've been checking the App Store 5 times a day. Although I suppose it would go to number 1 on here. Put one up if you can

Hi! This post has a Flesch-Kincaid grade level of 10.3 and reading ease of 67%. This puts the writing level on par with Michael Crichton and Mitt Romney.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 64916.21
ETH 3483.89
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.45