The Best Thing That Happened To Me Because Of Steemit

in #steemit6 years ago (edited)

Day 3 of @dragosroua's - 30 Days Writing Challenge

Steemit

I think several things have shifted for me since joing Steemit 2 months ago (as a non-tech, non-crypto person). One of the main ones is that it is 'teaching' me to be more responsible for my posts. By that I mean, in the beginning I tried various posting strategies to see what worked best. I think this is normal.

At first I did original content, but used un-credited images from Google Images, not good. Then I posted memes, not my own, Again not good. Then I posted links to various news stories and videos, but with sources credited. Good in that way, but not original. Note- none of this was an attempt to plagiarize. It was simply the result of a Steemit-illiterate trying to learn how Steemit works.

The Steemit system may punish bad behaviour...
678678002_befdc7a822_k.jpg
Image Source Flickr via Google Images, licensed for re-use Source

Recently, all my original posts have been better quality, using referenced, linked sources, and images from free-image sites like Pixabay etc. So the lesson for me was mainly - write original posts, use references, as far as humanly possible use images licensed for re-use.

Crypto and Value

Of course, learning about Steem, Steem Power, SBD etc. is a necessary part of this learning. So learning about the nature of crypto-currencies in general is the other big lesson. Being on Steemit is my first experience with crypto.

To the issue of what is money / value itself, I went through a period a few years ago reading and thinking about that. If you think about the days long ago when bartering and item-for-item trade were the ways economy worked, it boils down to a value exchange.

pexels-photo-95425.jpeg
Image Pexels

For example, I once traded a very good knife to a wood carver who needed a new knife, but did not have money to buy a new knife. In exchange he gave me a beautiful original carving. I had the knife, but no skill in carving artwork. He had the skill, but no money or knife. Seems to me we each gave and received value in return. And I had other knives anyway.

It's a bit like this on Steemit. Write good, original posts, and in time you will get upvotes and reminds. Of course, in reality Steemit is more complicated. There are also options to invest fiat money to get Steem, use upvote bots, join support communities etc. In fact, I think on Steemit it is very necessary to get involved in communities, if you are not a whale etc.

Anyway, these are the things I have experienced so far. Admittledly I still have a lot to learn. Cheers!

Sort:  

Some days, i think it would be great to go back to just bartering, but then I wonder how quickly I would run out of things of value and end up needing to trade the new stuff I just bartered to get.

But the application of a bartering system happening on Steemit works. There is definitely a give and take, and for a while, however long it is, there seems to be more give than take. I still haven't seen amazingly awesome results, but relatively speaking I am seeing progress.

Hopefully, it continues to grow and doesn't recede. Or if it does, it won't be so bad. The price of STEEM seems to be a big determining factor in what happens around here, so as long as it remains higher, there could be more opportunities to improve.

Yes you are right, you can't barter personal possessions for very long before you run of things you need. You would have to be growing or making something to trade. But I guess that's just called working and trading your products / time. Seems there will always be some kind of middle man involved, like merchants who buy the products of others and sell them on, or banks that loan money so others can buy. Hopefully, decentralized crypto will eventually be more fair to producers, and reduce the role of middle parties. Then again, I am certainly no economist!

my knowledge about steemit is really just lke and share haha.. but im enjoying posting my experience and photo that i took.

Yes sure... just takes some time to get to know the platform, but what you are doing is good!

There you go! We can be a good creator content by sharing something we're good at and join the community that fit us the most. I suggest you to read one of my favourite's author in steemit now. His serial post about how to increase profits in Steemit really helpful for minnows like you and I. Here is the link

Lol.. i have to run from eSteemApp to laptop to find it and edit this. you're so quick!

Yes, exactly!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 57428.63
ETH 2425.69
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.34