NEW BANNER and MESSAGE to flag spam comments: what do you think?

in #steemit7 years ago (edited)

animation.gif


Your comment was downvoted by @miti on its content.. but don't worry because at this time I used only a small portion of my Steem Power percentage as a warning.

To write comment for asking vote for vote OR follow for follow is considered spam in Steemit community. I also suggest you to read Steemit etiquette carefully before you hurt your reputation.
If you keep tryin' and don't stop writing that kind of comments, I am forced to increase my Steem Power percentage to downvote your spam comments, hurting your reputation too.
I'm not a BOT and my aim is to clear posts by trolls and spammers.


For more info contact me in steemit chat or CLICK HERE





Well, what do you think of it? I put it in comment too so you can see what it would be like after spam comment..


gif-coda.gif

Sort:  

animation.gif


Your comment was downvoted by @miti on its content.. but don't worry because at this time I used only a small portion of my Steem Power percentage as a warning.

To write comment for asking vote for vote OR follow for follow is considered spam in Steemit community. I also suggest you to read Steemit etiquette carefully before you hurt your reputation.
If you keep tryin' and don't stop writing that kind of comments, I am forced to increase my Steem Power percentage to downvote your spam comments, hurting your reputation too.
I'm not a BOT and my aim is to clear posts by trolls and spammers.


For more info contact me in steemit chat or CLICK HERE

Honestly, I think the last paragraph weakens your statement. Asking for an up-vote and delegated SP may appear to some as a kind of spam. Maybe adding "I'm not a BOT and my aim is to clear posts by trolls and spammers." to the end of your first paragraph, and removing the last paragraph would make it on-subject and to the point.

In any case, you are doing a marvelous job in an area that badly needs policing!

Will

Thank you Will,

I changed text and banner because i've considered all advice given by authors who saw my action against spammers in their posts.

I opened this post precisely in order to allow me to take my followers advice's in high regard. So I'll take your advice and i will change the text. ;-)

To be honest

I really like what you are doing, but would see a message like this in my comments as bigger spam compared to someone who asks vote for vote or follow for follow (this can easily just be ignored). It's maybe something personal, but I really dislike big automated comments.

Maybe it would be an idea to keep the message to an absolute minimum and link @miti to a post where everything is explained.

Thanks @costanza,

At first, I had your own doubt. But I think is necessary an "high-impact" message to discourage the spammers from continuing mess up all posts.

I value your opinion and I will think of a solution..

It'd be nice to have a shorted height. Make the picture somewhat prominent. Keep the message short and powerful and leave a link to the explanation. Don't explain. Taking up too much space for the flag is annoying when you repeatedly flag on the same page.

Never use the term "downvote". Use "Flag" as it has more impact.
Tell You flagged them for spam.
Leave a link for flagging criteria.
Say it's a warning.
Tell them that you are not a bot.

Just a picture and 4 clear short points with links will do.
Don't play it nice.
If possible, have different messages for warning spam, nuking spam, Plagiarism.

Good Luck!

Very good points.. in the next few days I will revise it for the third version of my comment against spammers. Thanks.

Happy to help the good fight :-)

I would rather suggest you to stop posting it. It's a bit to flashy. And, are you on discord?

As i told to @costanza, I think is necessary an "high-impact" message to discourage the spammers from continuing mess up all posts. Furthermore, this new version have received many appreciations from authors.
I'm still not on discord...

weird i just reacted to someone saying i flag people of when the reply only consists out of vote for me. Not even great text or nice pic, just vote for me... hate it ! so yes i do flag them of, and answer them the same time with why and how they could do the same different. Without annoying. post a picture, make a nice answer, be part of a conversation. so yes A not like button or flag is necessary

Fully agree with you ;-)

@miti, I think that @tusharvasave don't understand your warning.
Still spamming :(

Hi i want to support this people which is downvoted by any other for any reason. I will train you to increase upvotes. For this join discord group - https://discord.gg/MsQRCmn

I'll take care of him... ;-)

What do you think about new message?

It's great. It's better to learn spammers how to use steemit than just flagging them :)

Report him here too: https://steemcleaners.org/abuse-report/
With low SP @mit can't nuke them. We should be vigilant against who's philosophy is based around gaming the system and who activly promote follow for follow and vote for vote. This piece of scum wants fight the spam fighters. I don't have much SP to nuke. But this is a candidate for nuking.

Nice job. But i think you have to warn them by comment. If they not reply in 24 hour then you should take action. Because they should have one chance. They want to become great stemian. But by your action they cant work work with honestly. Think about it.

Thanks. In my experience, only a warm comment is not enough to discourage spammers. Instead a "light" downvote (first warning worth less than 0.01 SBD) works better.

Agreed. Personally I don't think certain kinds of serial spammers will never be good steemians. Some just spam for exposure. Those you can fix. But some have audacity to make posts saying that the point of steemit is upvoting and following each other. It always comes down to the philosophy. Some just need shortcuts but many others wants to game the system.

So I'd say always research the spammer. Read the posts and check comments and also check whether the account is associated/working with other spammers. Some accounts needs to be nuked on sight. Only a small portion of these spammers would become reformed. My personal experience is that it'll be less than 10% of the spammers.

Ok. Thanks for reply.

You are welcome.

You automatically downvoted my post within less than a second of it being posted, which was very relevant, asking sweetjess if she could go to a particular place and give an update of it's progress while she is in TaiPei...

Are you sure? I didn't downvote any of your comment or post! Could you take a screenshot or give me a proof of what you are talking about?

Nevermind, I thought it was my comment cuz it was at the bottom but it was somebody else's and I didn't see mine anywhere so I thought it blocked my comment from being seen and that it was talking to me. I see my comment now, it was hard to find cuz it was buried in the middle in like th thousand comments haha. Sorry about that! I appreciate what you're doing by trying to eliminate spam!

Thanks, I check user's comment page before assign a flag to avoid accidental downvoting.

Congratulations @miti! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of comments received

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

I don't believe a word you are saying... you are just here to create controversy and get more comments.

STOP trolling an stop spamming. You've been flagged and I also reported you to @steemcleaners

LoL... You are just copying this messsage and pasting it. Are you a bot? Or you just like your spam?

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63209.62
ETH 2570.91
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.76