You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: STEEMIT...ONE BIG ASS KISSING CONTEST?

in #steemit7 years ago

The Basques were, and are all over the northern half of the state. I'm in Carson City. So I knew the Laxalts and (I'll try and spell their name)the Eurkiagas (I know that's mispelled). There is an annual Basque day over in Elko which is on I80 on the east side of the state. When I go out deer/elk hunting you can still find their marks on aspen trees up in the mountains. Kind of cool.

Sort:  

My Family lived in Winnemucca we use to run the Old Winnemucca Hotel
( which is gone) use to be the best food and drink in town. I left in 1975. Laxalt use to come to our place. There is only a few Basque where we are at now. But we still know how to cook. Thanks for your reply

Cripes! I've eaten at the old landmark hotel in Winnemucca! Yes, who can do better than the Basques when it comes to food... and plenty of it. There is still one restaurant down in Gardnerville that is Basque. Not only is the food good but I love the community style dining. Such good memories. Blessings.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 62827.81
ETH 2583.62
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.73