STEEMIT...ONE BIG ASS KISSING CONTEST?

in #steemit7 years ago (edited)

pointing-finger-1922074_960_720.png

I know. I know...when one points a finger there are three pointing back. This is my problem. Perhaps someone can help. It seems I've reached a plateau. There are a few die-hard followers that upvote my posts, and I there's. But for the most part it seems like I'm pissing into the wind which is a violation of the Outdoorsmans First Law: Don't piss into the wind...it always, always, comes back into your face. I've been seeking genuine relationships and have made what I thought were good comments. I'm trying to be authentic and real, I've offered posts that obviously should change the world.( If mom were still around I know she'd say just that! )

And I look to trending and see a dude, can't recall his name, but he was at the top of the list this morning with over $700 of votes. Then I look at his wallet and see he has non-stop, constant payouts to votebots. And then the little fishies vote for him to try and get his attention. The most pathetic say things like: "Great post. Please follow!!" And I feel for them. You can tell they come from some 3rd world nation and are genuinely trying to rise up out of ... well, not so good circumstances. And the post that made so much money: JUNK.

donkey-105719_960_720.jpg

It seems to me each new Steemian should get a supply of free chapstick when they sign up. There is, what appears to be a constant ASS KISSING CONTEST going on. Lot of chapped lips. I mean one does not dare say anything that might offend someone. I mean really, a whale flag right now would ruin 5 weeks of work and probably send me down the road. And most of us are running around trying to find another Butt to kiss, to please, to get attention from, to manipulate. Is this what it means to be a Steemian? God, I hope not.

But I suppose this is the human condition: all of us scrabbling over the bodies of those we are better than, bigger than, smarter than, for our pieces of sliver. The energy band of that behavior just grates on my soul. I know there are some great people here trying to create a new vision.

OK. Enough! Maybe, I'll just take a walk out in the fields and calm down and get centered. Maybe, when I come back I'll have something constructive to say. Maybe I should take a few days off. Maybe I should not have ANY EXPECTATIONS... a great source of suffering.

Anyway, many blessings. Is that the wind I feel blowing in my face? Pssssssss.....

Sort:  

Boom 😉💣

Well, thanks Mr. West. Have to laugh. Blessings. There! I gave you my .02 worth.

Lol this made me laugh. To be honest I am super tired, about to go to bed and kept questioning if I was going to read this or not but I'm happy I did because I laughed and then got to the end and laughed again at the entertainment via imagery below.

I know this is going to sound like such a hippy-dippy answer but honestly, this box is just getting crowded and kids are misbehaving and gathering together and picking on the younger ones... it's kind of too much sometimes.

I think that valuable, creative, soulful content will standout once this place is weeded out. No one here for a quick off is going to last in my opinion so I say hold tight, don't give up and just keep doing what brings you happiness without getting stuck on the monetary amount/upvotes/comments/views/ whatever dumb calculative way we have to measure ourselves, just try to put it out of your mind and post what matters to you. That way you won't be upset if it doesn't do well because you valued doing it and got something out of it for yourself.

I think we all know something has got to be done around here to change this place. It's just not working anymore right now. Don't give up though, I think it's still gunna change social media. We just have to stop treating it like a job and come into it with real passion :)

<3 Best of luck to you!

Thanks. I appreciate your comments. I do agree with you and have come to the same conclusions over the last few days. Integrity, authenticity and coming from the heart are more important than anything else, and I do believe that these behaviors will be rewarded. I may be a bit whacky, but I feel a sense of purpose, perhaps even destiny here. I think the larger picture is creating a paradigm of cooperative prosperity while honoring and sustaining the individual. I invite you to see how this original post has evolved over the past several days. I wont link them here but invite you to visit if you have the time. Blessings on your head.

Thanks for the encouragement. And the post is.....? blessings.

Thanks. Will have to read the comments. Some pissed off people there. Hope an understanding is reached.

well there is one lady who is a very very skeptical person who went off. The people down there are in dire straights and so bigdude took it a little personally, you can check him out, looks like he does good work to me. Hopefully in the near future we will have some new steemians as additional proof his efforts are legit.

Yes the People's Paradise of Venezuela is collapsing. Who is next? California?

that sounds like a likely candidate, except even though they are kicking and screaming against it we are making America great again.

you may want to have a look at this article to understand more about gamified control and the social cooling effect

https://steemit.com/freedom/@bifilarcoil/so-steemit-is-a-censorship-proof-platform-you-think

by complaining about the system you get negative value and the more you complain the deeper you sink

Then when you hang out with other people who complain then you sink even deeper just because you are friends with them.

@bifilarcoil

Oh my! Thanks for the tip. No I definitely don't want to go there.

Oh my! Thanks for the tip. Scary shit that! God! I hope this insanity does not spread. But governments around the world probably are licking their chops. And, I must admit, that we play a form of that here on Steemit. I saw a short movie on this about a month ago. Science fiction. A possible future here in the US. Was sickening. Unfortunately it is human instinct to fit into the collective, the community, the hive. We see it here don't we? Barf. Gag.

we need more clarity in this shit.

and have a say IN the shit.

You should see the shit storm I've been dealing with.

Yes, I can see you've had some...um, challenges. (checked out your blog).

Well, hold onto your jockey shorts: my former dearly beloved, who is now a good friend, told me after 27 years of marriage that she had found another lover, Her name was Linda. I'm not complaining mind you but one of my daughters followed mom. So I've had to accept "diversity" in my own family.
And I'm ok with it. No problem. However, these militant bitches like you encountered find no tolerance from me. Good luck to you is all I can say. And no, I'm steering clear of waving the red flag in front of that crowd.

Authentic and real are overrated this post is hillarious! Following you.

Glad you got a good chuckle. I was pretty bummed out the other day...good thing there is such a thing as humor. Doing better now but still have to wear a muzzle when I am here at Steemit.

I gave up taking steemit to heart, and pretty much for now gave up blogging on here, stay positive my friend, every cloud they say has a silver lining, and I hope it comes and shines on you.

Greetings @deliberator. I'm going to visit your blog in the morning (it's late) and then try and make a decent reply. Many blessings.

Holy Cow @deliberator I just went to your blog and you've done very well. You have many followers, you make decent money on your posts which are good (I looked at the one where you went to town and took pics and commented on the bone-heads who were constantly in their phones missing the world around them). I upvoted but the platform is very slow. Hope you got my .07 cents!! Whoopeee, your rich. I was pleased to see the people dressed in lively colors and the kids playing in the street. A coincidence: I'm an astrologer and had a client this weekend who moved from Poland where she grew up in Sosnowiec. Anyway, I am retired now due to illness and put as much time as I can each day on Steemit. I have very little other options. So I do as much as I can which some days is pretty limited. But really, whatever you have been doing you should keep it up. I think you are doing great. My philosophy is to be kind, caring, loving, participating as much as I can and supportive. I appreciate your comment and encouragement to keep positive. May you be blessed.

Thank you for the kind words, I had a loss a few weeks ago and was feeling down, I am back in full swing now, and added you to my following list, let's steem on together captain, full steem ahead.

Question: how do you have such good command of English? An engineer living in Poland. Did you go to school abroad or are you originally from an English speaking country and now in Poland? Sorry for your loss. May you be blessed.

I am originally from Birmingham England, I simply fell out of like with my country especially the government.

Yes, I can understand that. It seems to me, and please excuse my myopic vision if it is so, that most of the European governments are going to hell. Ah, but ours is too. No doubt about that. Glad to see you are posting again. Christopher.

Nice rant I'm not much on kissing ass either! If this was a full-time gig, and the only to get ahead is to kiss ass. I going to find new gig.Since I'm not Iget to put my stupid shit in here and the cards fall where they fall. I have met some nice people in here from all over the World. Just keep on keeping on. following

Thanks for the "keep your chin up" comment. Lots of Basque folks here in Nevada. Used to have some good basque friends. They moved on to the big sheep herd in the sky. Their roots were in sheep. Blessings.

what part of Nevada? I've got lots of peoples down there. I live in Oregon now.My Father was hearder when he first came the USA.

The Basques were, and are all over the northern half of the state. I'm in Carson City. So I knew the Laxalts and (I'll try and spell their name)the Eurkiagas (I know that's mispelled). There is an annual Basque day over in Elko which is on I80 on the east side of the state. When I go out deer/elk hunting you can still find their marks on aspen trees up in the mountains. Kind of cool.

My Family lived in Winnemucca we use to run the Old Winnemucca Hotel
( which is gone) use to be the best food and drink in town. I left in 1975. Laxalt use to come to our place. There is only a few Basque where we are at now. But we still know how to cook. Thanks for your reply

Cripes! I've eaten at the old landmark hotel in Winnemucca! Yes, who can do better than the Basques when it comes to food... and plenty of it. There is still one restaurant down in Gardnerville that is Basque. Not only is the food good but I love the community style dining. Such good memories. Blessings.

You are writing material that will change the world! I know you wont let it get to you for long. Its easy to get frustrated here and it feels lonely sometimes. Thats the overall feeling I have about the outside world in general! At least here on Steemit there are some genuine people that give a damn and thats why Im here. No expectations is the way to go. Thank You for sharing your work and life here.

Hey @michaelevans you get around. Appreciate the "chins up" comment. Yeah, my pissyness wanes. Feeling better. Blessings.

I really think there are some problems here lately that need desperate attention. It wasn't always like this. At one time, you could make $50 from one post with hundreds of votes, and then $0 from the very next post. It actually had to do with the quality of the post. Now it's not so much. Everyone gets the same amount of votes no matter what they post. Some people just happen to be at the top, while others are at the bottom - like real life I guess. Quality doesn't have anything to do with it anymore, with some exceptions.

Well, I hope I can be the exception... at least most of the time. In fact, right now I'm going to write an exceptional post. Appreciate the comment.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 62221.65
ETH 2424.80
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.55