I Lost My Account Private Owner Key; Introducing My Other Handle

in #steemit7 years ago (edited)

sad-476039_1280.png

"The owner key is the master key for the account and is required to change the other keys.
The private key or password for the owner key should be kept offline as much as possible."

  • Steemit Website

It is with utter sadness that I announce that I will be gradually migrating my activities to another account for the above reason. The new account will be @ubokobong. Ubokobong is my first name. Ubokobong Akpan.

How long will this migration take? Maybe six months, maybe a year. Maybe forever. I will maintain fidelity with this account mainly for curation purposes, and the new account will be home to my personal unique blog contents.

You might be asking, how secure is this account now I don't have the most important key. Well, to dissolve that fear I will borrow the observation of my friend @carlgnash, "if you don't have it backed up personally, it is a lock that no one ELSE does either." And I am 1000% sure no one else does. How I know? Yeah... I didn't even observe the key on sign up. There most definitely must have been a warning. I mean we live in a world where we assume we know already the instructions and terms, so we just scroll down and accept. Guilty me.

If not for a transaction I needed to do today that required my private master key, there is no damn way I would have known I don't have it.

Why do I bother with creating a new account when this key missing is not even a threat to my account? I figure a future where heirlooms will be in the form of passwords and keys, and I envisage a very big Steem future. So it's far less painful to lose total privileges to a 5 month old account with a few hundreds of dollars in 2017, than lose it in 2050. You follow?

I won't power down as I said earlier I will be maintaining this account mainly for curation purposes. This account isn't going to be redundant. This is just an introduction of another account that I will maintain concurrently. Maybe after a few years I might see a need to discontinue posting from this one. Any way, I will update you.

I didn't just keep my owner key offline like STINC recommends, I kept it out of existence!

If you follow me, please follow me again:

@ubokobong

I just created that a few hours ago with Anonsteem.

Trust me this account is going to be kick-ass. It has the headstart of the experiences I have gathered on this lovely platform in as many months. You don't want to miss this.

Thank you, @neoxian for the effort to educate me on the need to do this. Here's an insightful post you wrote in the past on this subject matter.

With love,
Mister Akpan


smiley-1691280_1920.jpg

images from pixabay
Sort:  

I've locked and loaded my follow on the new account, Ubok, and I'm sorry you're having to cope with the hassle.

Just a temporary glitch. It will be forgotten a year from now. :D

misterakpan i think that there needs to be much more emphasis on that key. I dont recall being asked to store or back it up either, because of the excitement of actually joining. in this age there is always a way to reset the account. the people who make the account should have a way of making sure you do not proceed until the password is noted. And then, even then, so many will lose the key. They will misplace it because they have yet to learn the significance. I think there are ways to pass along your monies by transfer. If this is how you must do it, all is fine.

sorry to leanr of such loss of master key and wish you all the best using your new account. best regards and success

Or it is all an elaborate ruse in an effort to be Curie eligible....

Hmmmm

😎

Hahahahaha. Trust me it isn't. But on a bright side... ;-)
I am sure you are going to make some finder fees off that new steemian.

Oh dear! I'm really sorry about your loss. I hope nothing much is spoilt. A friend of mine recently lost her masterpass too, so she had to start all over again with another account. More painful is the fact that she had a lot of sbds retained in the old account that she cant withdraw... Its such a painful thing to happen to one. Make sure you save your new password in your google drive. This can be retrieved anywhere... Cheers

Thanks so much. Mine isn't as bad, as I still retain full access to my account. I have the password, private active, memo and posting keys. So I am just as good with my present account, but cannot initiate a recovery.

That sucks, man. Steemit is secure (maybe too secure). Rarely when i have to go to the steem Help chat there are dozens of people asking if they can retrieve their password, only to be bummed out they have probably lost a lot of funds.

I guess security is a two-edged sword then :-)

Hello @misterakpan
Sorry about the loss your keys. I should go secure mine too offline before it is too late. Going to follow your new account straight away. Hope it gets more successful than this.


@learnandteach01

I think I lost mine as well.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 57529.75
ETH 2571.57
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44