You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: The Curious Case Of The Destitute YouTubers

in #steemit8 years ago

People don't realize that the price drop is normal, it's expected, even desired if you ask me and users leaving the platform will result in both the good ones and bad ones leaving, that will just help this place filter out a bit and leave the ones who truly care about Steem and steemit and who support this idea and experiment. I will surely be one of the ones who stay, no matter what, I'm not here for the money, I'm here for the social aspect of it, knowledge and some amazing people I've befriended and met here. Steemit is truly a unique platform at this point, like no platform out there, with a very again unique mix of individuals and content.

Sort:  

Yeah it is a very interesting place. The price drop is a double edge sword for someone like me. I really want to be a 100% full time content creator but there has been a couple occasions where the payouts on my posts got so low for the time I spent on them that I had to actually focus on other things. If the payouts were higher I could really just devote all my time here but my bills are high enough that I have to make money. Since 2007 / 2008 I have always wanted to be a full time content creator but it never has happened except in short spurts. I'm hoping I can survive the dips on this and keep building up Steem Power and keep passing people on the whale list. I agree with you that this place is very unique and I'm glad it doesn't have all the trolls that are on other platforms.

As you said the price drop is double edged sword not just for you but for Manny of us who powered up steem when the price was really high (I've powered up 200$ at 2.5$), but the price drop won't affect the worth of the posts much or if any at all since the reward pool is pretty much very static and isn't Dependant on steem market price. As a creator, yes it is hard to survive and rely on creating income early on, but the thing is to always keep pushing and moving on, from my standpoint Steemit is a great opportunity for new "creator stars" to be born and that opportunity should be used.

Probably the only two places like Steemit that I were part of in my like, what? Twenty years on internet? Were DiscworldMUD and geekculture forums. There were a lot of other great places, a lot of really cool people that I know from livejournal and the like but those two were the greatest. And Steemit has the same vibe, so I am definitely staying. :-D

Awesome! Yeah. The troll level on YouTube is out of control in a lot of ways. It is pretty chill here.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 60950.68
ETH 2607.83
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.65