Consuming Information the Steemit Way. -The Input Change.

in #steemit8 years ago (edited)

Steemit has a huge impact on what type of information we consume and how much on a daily basis.


Before Discovering Steemit I was mostly using YouTube and other info sites/blogs for my daily source of information "that matters", facebook was only a "social must" because others use it, so I had to use it as well, I would spend 5 min - 1 hour a day on facebook. But a thing I haven't noticed in that "lifestyle" was, what type of information I was exposed to. I am a guy curious about many things so, I'm not the person that's gonna "waste" all your time watching trivia, youtube drama or simply to "waste my time" by taking in low quality information. I will always try to learn something new and have a entertaining break every once in a while. So even back then I was trying to consume "good" information and I was partially successful at that, but I still knew and "consumed" these:

Disclaimer at bottom

I'm not referring to all of them as bad, with that said, no matter how much you would try to "look away" you would always see them or hear about them, or the ads that would bombard you with them! They are everywhere, no hiding, no escaping...But when I discovered steemit, this happened...

I was standing in front of a book in a yet unknown place, that's written in every day with new information that's carefully selected. A book that could not be erased, modified, censored, a book that read all other books and took the best of them and continues to do so every second, a book named Steemit. It was the only true book of knowledge, that doesn't only provide it, but empower it.


How I came here & the change.

So around 2 Weeks ago I've joined Steemit, by accident browsing trough YouTube. The 1st week was very interesting, on a daily basis I was learning as much as I could about crypto and steemit in general, but the weird thing, I wasn't learning these on other sites or looking that info up on wikipedia, I was learning all that here with an ease, but I didn't realize the importance of that until today. I was thinking about my next topic to write and I've noticed I wasn't thinking about something funny or "entertaining" to write about, my topic focus was shifted,I was thinking about something educational, of a topic of high value, than it hit me. I've realized how much I've learned on Steemit about other people's lives, science, discovery, crypto, the world... It's simply amazing how much quality information I have consumed in the past 2 weeks. On facebook, youtube, basically any other social media in general you get exposed to a lot of ads and low quality content, that's there just to click bait you and try to steal your time where they gain but you lose, but don't get me wrong good things can come trough, but it only makes 20% of your daily information input on other social media. But on Steemit it's different, everyone is sharing very valuable knowledge, sharing opinions about important questions, about science, culture, about life...But all this information isn't just on the Trending page, It's everywhere, people with high expertise in something are sharing tips worth gold & diamonds, not only Steem!

This platform is truly changing the type of information consumed by the masses and the good thing is, we all are encouraging it! If someone makes a "bad" post, In matter of seconds you will see comments bashing on that person, everyone is focused to get the best out of them and that's not great, it's amazing! Think about it, compare one day information input with and without Steemit, you will notices that a day with Steemit is a day of knowledge and true socialization. When I just think about the amazing posts I've read and up voted, commented so far, It makes me smile. Form a standpoint of someone who's very curious about this world and who's mind is running "full steem ahead" I'm so glad to see so many people learning something genuinely good every day here on Steemit. I'm in the same mindset as all of you out there, thinking: "Ok, what important peace of knowledge, experience or skill can I share in a post today", or how can I contribute this community more and the beauty of it, I'm not alone, there are ~50.000 of us now thinking the same and more are joining every day. We are now doing a quality overload on Steemit and truth to be told not all that quality can be noticed. You see, In my 2 weeks of being here, I've seen a lot of people hating on whales, but let me tell those people this:

Whales are like the man above, someone just like you and me, no big corporation & monopolistic organisaton(not yet) trying to do their best, but are "held down" by the masses, seeking their attention,power and recognition for their work.

But your posts are getting un-noticed? Well, that's how "whales" look like, trying to "survive" on here. They are being bombarded by massive amounts of information both "good" and "bad" quality, information pressured by the community to make a decision, truth to be told, no matter their decision, there will always be at least that one person, that will disagree and think different. They are always on the spotlight, their every mistake Is seen and criticized, perceived by the mass as "perfect"and the ones who can't make mistakes, but they are not, no one is.

Another problem whales of this growing community face, is spam and lots of it. Some day It might reach the point as depicted in the image above. I've did it, I have sent a couple whales my post link, but it wasn't for me, It was for taking down a plagiarized post being blindly supported by the mass. But even tho that link was for a good purpose, I later came to realize, that It doesn't matter if it served a good purpose or not, my message was one of possible hundreds received that day and only contributed to that. So please don't DM someone your link, not to a whale, nor to me, nor to anyone. If someone is interested they will find it and read it.

I hope this "whale" part, will help others understand their role in the system a bit better and ease some of the hate aimed towards them realizing that, there is more beyond the SP they have. My next post will be focused on how to make money here on Steemit, even if you don't create, why whales vote "specific" posts and how is that related to the future and success of this community and what creation strategy to apply, all this to help you get more value out of your time here and learn how to understand and use the system better.

Big Disclaimer:
This post wouldn't be this good without the amazing images of these people, so please go visit and see more of their work, especially Je Ma's Digital art! The post is genuine and my honest opinion , I have no intent to "attract whales" with this post. Regarding the gif posted, I do not, necessarily hate or consider bad any of the persons In that image, It's just there as reference. Also for everyone, wanting to know about how can you make money here / your un-noticed, that follow up post Is going up tomorrow since, this one took way more time than I earlier thought it would. The follow up post is Here

Images Source Here -Je Ma's official website Here, Gif Source Here

Power UP and Steem On!
Have a nice day!

Sort:  

@minion i gonna follow you good post dude

I agree with you. So far the quality of steemit is much higher than FB and YouTube and I have the feeling that we are not spied on by large corporations to sell us things. I hope it will stay this way. If not, we will move somewhere else, I guess. Good luck steemit!

I don't like very long post, but this is an exception. Well done

As always another wonderful post by @minion.

This post is #venusAPPROVED!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.35
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 70733.96
ETH 3563.16
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.76