The Steemit Daily Dose: @mindhunter looks at the darker side of Steemit: GAMEIFICATION #whaledownvoting #rewardpoolrape #krcollusion #whaleshares

in #steemit7 years ago

Sort:  

nice post @mindhunter

We must poke the belly of our idol to make it better for all my friend. As philosophy tells us: 'The goal of philosophy is to destroy our idols.' ... but not in the way you might think ;)

This is a great video!! @mindhunter

This is the W in SWOT analysis :) We must face our weaknesses @stackin - thanks for your support!

I totally agree with you @mindhunter .... Keep up the awesome content!

Let us do that too my friend - the yin/yang motions of Steemit!

This is a most interesting and important topic. Im not involved in how these systems work, its too far over my head, but you talk about it in a way that a layman like me can follow. This affects our entire community and really decides whether I stay or go. Im interested to see how this pans out.

Please stay munky! Please be part of the solution with me and not part of the problem by leaving ;) Steem on my friend!!

I hope to. I have heart and think human systems usually balance out one way or another. Im just worried money will mess it all up, as you stated money does things to people. It makes those without do funny things to get it too.

Maybe its not the right way, or even in the spirit of the community at large, but Im going to ignore the monetary side of this platform. This is in part because its all a bit over my head and also because Im just the worst accountant ever born. Money clouds my judgment too :(

Maybe its not the right way, or even in the spirit of the community at large, but Im going to ignore the monetary side of this platform.

That is a very wise statement. If you Steem from the heart, the money will always follow you :)

Yeah, it bites at my ankles and when I turn around it scarpers! ha! :)

Nice imagery there @analogmonkey :)

Whos speaking in imagery?! The wee buggers are really there and they are vicious ;P (or Iv clearly lost it)

By the way I have some advice to ask. Iv not been exactly sure what advice I needed but I think I understand enough to pinpoint it, so here goes:

If I use all my steem dollars earned from comments and posts to "power up" that gives my account more voting power i.e. steem power?
So considering I have no inclination to withdraw any earnings from steem and want to put it back into the community, should I power up? Or can you suggest a better way to put back into and enrich the platform, like promoting posts or giving steem dollars to people I want to grow etc

Im still rather confused by it all.

The best way you can reward the community is by powering up so your vote has more weight so others are rewarded by your curation :)

Amazing video mate :) Keep going #respect :)

Thanks @freshstuff - if there's subject you want me to cover, then just drop me a line anytime :)

I enjoyed the video. My question on the darker side of Steemit is I have noticed Dan and Ned are powering down. What does this mean?

It may just be for one payment and then they'll stop. Most folks do that. If they power down for the full 13 weeks then I'll be REAL SCARED!!

I hope you are right. I am going to watch it. I come from a background in equities (stocks) and you always wanted to know if there was large insider selling! I don't know if there is an easy way to keep an eye on it here short of going around and wallet snooping?

This is indeed a tough one to solve but if HF-19 and HF-20 solve 80% of the problems I'll be happy old guy ;)

This is a really good example of something I come across every day in my job.

you design a wonderful system - it's beautiful, the code is a delight to behold, it's magical and it is the one true thing that will bring peace and prosperity to the world.

And then you let people in, and they bugger it up. ;-)

People will always try to find a way around rules, even when it is to their detriment. They will bully others, they will try to take more than their fair share, they will not play nice.

It's easy to blame the system for not taking all this into account, but I don't think it is the system's fault. The system works - it's the people who can't play nice who are broken.

I think one solution that would go some way towards addressing a bunch of these problems is to remove the level of influence the whales have. Cap their influence at three times the influence of a minnow for example.

Or have the influence work on upvotes, but no on flags - everyone can flag equally and the flagging doesn't take away any money, it just hides the post.

I was here during the flagging wars, and at that time I had just convinced my father @len.george to come on board. Then I had to tell him not to post anything because it would just get flagged and he would be wasting his time.

I too stopped posting for a time because there was no point. Why give bullies a target?
I think what Steemit.inc needs to do now is instead f throwing a bunch of dev hours at trying to stop this and stop that, and write an algorithm to fix the other, is to sit back for a moment and look at the people and how they are (mis) using the system.

What motives them? What dis-incentives them? Why are they doing this?
And then look at developing ways of changing their behaviour so they become, over time, good Steemians.

That way, everybody wins.

People will always try to game and scam any system! We must remember were still in Beta phase, so this is the time we iron out all the mistakes before the Alpha phase starts in 2-5 years times.

Yup. As a kiwi living in the UK (many decades ago now. Wow that's something scary to think about!) there were so many scams going on to get free phone calls back home.

It was fun to try and game Telecom and see if you could get a free phone call (the phone boxes could be made to count upwards if you did it right.)

We never looked at it as stealing profits from the company. We just didn't want to pay for hour long phone calls to our mothers. ;-)

And there will be an element of that here also - if it can be gamed, someone (usually a kiwi) will give it a crack and see if they can do it.

Where this is a little more sinister, is when people start doing this in a way that harms the other users simply to satisfy their own greed.

Greed is not good.
Greed does not work. Despite what a small lizard type person might tell you.

I think placing some sort of limit on influence, maybe earnings, power etc may help with some of the symptoms. But it won't fix the problem.

The problem is people, and fixing them is a little more tricky ;-)

Money doesn't buy happiness, only more choices. The paradox is many don't realise this until they obtain some form of wealth.

Another way to look at it, is that money buys freedom.

If you have money you are free to do what you want to do.

You can go out to dinner.
You can buy the new smartphone.
You can follow your dreams.

I've experienced both sides of this equation - grinding poverty - working my arse off just to pay the rent, with nothing left over. My boss used to bring me in food so I could at least get a couple of good meals in during the week.

And I've had a really good year when I earned a stupid amount of money writing code.

The big difference for me was I could do stuff when I had money. One of my wife's friends (who was a struggling artist) didn't have a raincoat and it was coming into winter - so I bought her a Gortex jacket, and new shoes, and a gym membership at a swanky gym.

It felt really good to be able to do that - to have the freedom to do that and know that I still have my bills covered.

So in that regard I think freedom buys happiness, and money is one of the keys that unlocks freedom.

But for many, that is not so. The pursuit of money itself is their goal. They will never be happy because they will never have enough. Someone else will always have more, and they will always want to try to get more than that person.

They will never be able to enjoy their money and the freedom it can bring. For them, freedom is unobtainable using the money key, because that key only locks the door. It doesn't unlock it.

Interesting personal philosophy on money Trevor. Agreed. I hope your dad joins Steemit! I'll send him some Steem!! ;)

He's already here: @len.george ;-)

And writing lots as well.

What's really fun is finding out a lot more about what he got up to as a boy recruit in the airforce.

How may ways can you get court-marshalled?

I thought I got up to mischief when I was a lad, but it was nothing compared to the stuff he got up to hehehe.

He sounds like a character Trev, I'll check him out soon :)

This is great thing, i guess all crypto will open many different ways to grow everyone, you just need to use it.
Doing absoultly amazing here, can agree with many what you said :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 67292.64
ETH 3242.50
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.64