Why 99% Of All The Up-Voted Poetry On Here Is DISMALLY BAD!

in #steemit8 years ago (edited)

I agree with @sovpara who left me a comment that said that we need to pay for professional curators in the arts.

I am in total agreement with this. Please up-vote this post if you feel the same way. I'm a bad poetry offender myself - I would not dictate to others what I would not have done to myself. I've written some real crap on here to get up-votes! I need to be monitored and curated correctly by a man or woman of the arts.

Many thanks to @sovpara for this post idea - he sent me one of the best comments I've read on Steemit on a previous post - and I've seen a loooot of comments!

@mindhunter

p.s. Enclosed is my terrible attempt at one to two lines of poetry. I'M A TERRIBLE OFFENDER. I will submit myself to poetry rehabilitation IMMEDIATELY!

https://steemit.com/life/@mindhunter/supposing-i-stood-on-the-highest-star-i-would-place-you-higher

Sort:  

I'm gonna up the ante here and say that 99.9% of poetry is shit on here!

Superb addage of the 0.9%. Thanks!

By the way @ericvancewalton makes poetry that stinks worse than 2 day old roadkill!

I agree with @thecentreofitall - @ericvancewalton needs to removed from the poetry arts arena! His writing is good, but his poetry is C-R-A-P!!

AGREED! His novellas are good, but his poetry does need to removed from Steemit!

Add to IMMEDIATE REHABILITATION list!

It's very average, it just seems stinky because of the ridiculous number of up votes.

Whew, that's a lot of metaphoric poop

I am new to steemit and just started submitting to poetry and art this week, I hope you like what I do. Check it out @beginningtoend

I find your poetry middling to average. 5/10. Poetry justice served :-)

Just curious, what poets do you like? A few of my favorites are Charles Simic, Sylvia Plath, and James Tate.

Dylan Thomas or NOTHING! (OK a little Plath too!)

I can't argue with Dylan Thomas, Bob Dylan liked him so much he took his name. I will argue or NOTHING, there are lots of great writers to be found. Best, have a good one.

Do not go gentle into that good night.
Rage, rage against the dying of the light.

If it weren't for bad poetry, steemit might not have poetry at all? If I upvote bad poetry what does that make me?

There is some bad poetry here, I have upvoted it because I like the contributor, not because I liked the poetry. lol

Is mine one of those for you? I'm totally cool not getting a vote on my work if it isn't sincerely enjoyed, I'll still lub you

I like your poetry, sometimes I find it thought provoking. Starchild reminded me of a Sci-Fi series of books by Jack Campbell that I like to read. The idea of what happens after death is a bit different from your poem but I find the imagery of stars and ancestors is food for thought.

At least your honest @patrice - thank for that - its a rarity on here!

I have noticed poetry has stopped rhyming, I think a lot of people need help not just with there poetry:)

Add all STEEMER poets to the IMMEDIATE REHABILITATION list!

Steemit would be a very small place if everything was judged so harshly. I was taught that poetry has few if any rules unless you are trying to follow them. So then there is not no bad poetry on here but its not all bad. I tried...

I'm guilty of it. I make no apology either. I have posted utter nonsense, but if not for steemit I never would have hurt my brain trying to produce something remotely poetic. As a result I appreciate poetry so much more.

I've drawn some pretty crap pictures to go with them too☺️

Good girl! Thanks for passing by with your comments - I loved em'!

Yours is not so bad Mat - it's bearable! I blame the smart-phone generation. They have no idea what true art REALLY is!

A Notion of Freedom - 7/10!

Poetry is supposed to paint a vivid picture or evoke an emotion.
Most people on here just chuck a few words together, to support a half-formed idea, that they complete with a picture: so that the readers, know what the author failed to say without knowing that the author failed to say it.

I write poetry and I vote for the best that I can find. I never vote for popular poetry if I dislike it.
I have a poem about to expire. It has 11 votes and 0.03 pay out. Please check it out and vote for it if you like it and please serve poetry justice because I want proper feedback and my skin is thick. @cathi-xx

I will check you out.xx

If you want a good laugh and a challenge, join in @kriptic 6 word challenge.
If you want to cry, the worst Steemit poem, @darthnava, the only good thing is that she made no dough.

That second sentence sounds like a good post headline! I will check out the crap-ness levels that you describe!

It's getting worse. Every 'poem' of the latest trending poet is just inspirational prose, written vertically under a nice bit of art. At least Ericvancewalton sometimes wrote an actual poem.

Great nutshell report there on the state of Steemit poetry!

p.s. I promised to FOLLOW ANY good poet on here - look how many Followed I have after 3 months! Says it all really!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.14
JST 0.028
BTC 58097.21
ETH 2581.79
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.41