You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Content discovery! Steemit vs Reddit. (just a rant)

in #steemit7 years ago

There are hundreds of ways to improve content discovery but since Steemit.com has been at this same stage for the last two years I think it's futile to suggest them any, no matter how obvious or simple to implement it is.

This is key right here. They really are not worried about doing anything other than minor cosmetic changes to the UI. Since anyone with the tools to do so can create a new UI for the Steem blockchain, I think they are leaving it up to the users to create something that works better.

I imagine there are Devs out there who could create a VERY usable interface given the proper motivation. Perhaps your offer to support the efforts is the push someone needs!

It isn't really what you are looking for, but have you checked out steemsearch.com? It gives you a lot of utility in searching for content, but you still have to kind of know what you are looking for. It was created by @markangeltrueman.

I have no stake in steemsearch, just pointing out a tool I have found most useful in my content discovery. :-)

Sort:  

I get what you're talking about. At first it could be pretty frustrating to get on the good wave of Steemit but there are tools.
For me personally - I like using Steem Buddy to find out accounts with similar interests. Once you follow enough interesting accounts, your news feed gets the magic you're looking for.

That's a great tip. Thanks for that

Just started using steemsearch, thanks for the recommendation.

I think it is OK to keep Steemit as simple as possible to allow for as many users as possible. 3rd party tools will be able to achieve any specific sorting or searching that anybody might need.

Thanks for mentioning SteemSearch Mike, it is much appreciated, as is the continued support. I've got 3 days free to work on some more features starting from tomorrow so i'll see what i can come up with.

I ma new on steemit.please guide me and vote me @cristi

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 60934.92
ETH 3379.12
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.48