You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: HOWTO Get Attention on STEEMIT without PISSING PEOPLE OFF! 😱

in #steemit6 years ago

I think the biggest mistake that people who sign up for the platform have the wrong idea: they simply want to earn money as fast as they can. But there is no ‘get-rich-quick’ scenario.

In the 3 months I’m using SteemIt, I’ve been working my ass of to get at least one decent post online. I’m not an expert in something, nor am I a talented writer. I realize my posts are not top notch and I will probably never become a whale. But I love to learn new things about cryptocurrencies and the SteEmit platform, and what I learn,I share to help other people out. I would be lying if I said I don’t like seeing my author rewards go up a little bit every time, but the real value is in the interaction and the ‘learning-from-eachother’ part.

SteemIt isn’t the platform for anyone who is not willing to spend loads of time to do research for writing a good article. If you want to post a copy/paste article or a YouTube video someone else has made without having the decency to at least write your own intro and hoping to get rich, you’re at the wrong place.

(Although every day I come across several articles that are just plain worthless and are still earning 10 times more than me, so I can only conclude the wrong attitude is being enforced by the system somehow.)

I’m planning to do some experiments with different posts - quality posts as well as rubbish - to find out what triggers people to vote.

Earlier today I read an article that suggested you could earn $10/day by simply posting 10 articles that would earn $1 each.
I can hardly imagine that those 10 articles a day will provide real value, still I believe this Guy can make it work somehow. And that’s just plain sad...

Sort:  

I'll repeat the comment here I wrote to @gre3n, since I think it's also relevant to what you wrote:

That's true as well, though pretty much everything in life is a sort of crap-shoot. I actually consider each post to be like a stock option, or "lottery ticket". You just never know which one may "hit it big". So many factors apply, such as time of posting, who's watching, what people are searching for, etc.

And I can not tell you how often I've authored posts that took days to assemble, with what I considered invaluable information for those who took the time to read it, and it gained almost no traction. However, others posts that I literally threw together in 20 minutes, sometimes unsure if I should even post it, it takes off like a rocket and earns more than my last 10 posts combined!

Moral: Yeah, it's all to crap-shoot, you just never know, so you write about what you know, what you inspire, what you enjoy, and hope for the best ... And over time, you might start getting more and more "pleasant surprises" eat along your way! :)

Regarding this line you wrote:

(Although every day I eat across several articles that are just plain worthless and are still earning 10 times more than me, so I can only conclude the wrong attitude is being enforced by the system somehow.)

Unfortunately, that's often upvotes from whales that tend to simply crap-post in an attempt to "self-reward". If they do it blatantly enough, eventually (hopefully) they tend to be called out (and that's also what sometimes leads to flag-wars). But as for the rest of us, I'd say just focus on doing your thing.

I also try to keep my expectations in check. That way, if I get nothing, I won't be disappointed. If something good comes along, I can only be pleasantly surprised! :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.11
JST 0.031
BTC 67831.12
ETH 3801.93
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.75