New Phishing scam in progress! Be CAREFUL! Your account will be stolen!

in #steemit6 years ago (edited)

I've just noticed, flagged and reported THIS User for posting phishing comments on my blog. Here

Please be careful out there. If you click on a post and it immediately asks you to log into steemit, close that window and use a fresh one. Going back in your browser is not guaranteed to work.

We're seeing far too much of this lately. It's such a shame that the ones involved can't put the hard work into making a good steemit account rather than a scam.

Personally, I'd like to chop their fucking fingers off - but that's just my opinion.

Stay safe!

Sort:  

Thanks for informing the steemit community about these black sheeps. Thanks for sharing such important information well in time.

You got a 7.91% upvote from @thebot courtesy of @thedawn!
Please delegate us Steem Power & get 97% daily rewards share!
20 SP, 50, 75, 100, 150, 200, 300, 500, 1000 or Fill in any amount of SP.
Click For details | Discord server

Yuppp, saw this and did exactly what you said. Took me to a new browser window, then noticed the domain name was not steemit.com so I X'd everything out.

Nope not today. It is a shame there are so many scammers. Probably hired by banksters to get in and F sh!t up in my opinion.

Probably hired by banksters to get in and F sh!t up in my opinion.

Haha! You could be right!

Thank you for the heads up. I have been seeing a lot of these phishing posts. I keep flagging but they pop up under other account names. Nasty business.

I flagged a few posts, went to chat to report the account and came back. The flags have disappeared off the bottom of that page, they account is doing SO many posts. I hope no one on my following lists get caught.

I would hope we are a bit more enlightened than the phishers. But one never knows. I try to be super careful.

I have gotten these too - a few times now.

You can report them to @steemcleaners. They have a link that takes you to an external site for reporting at the bottom of every post they make. The people I reported were flagged down to -0- rep within 24 hours.

Re: the scam....thanks for putting that out there. It's kinda stupid that if someone's smart enough to set up a phishing scam like that they are probably capable of making quite a bit of money in a more honest manner using that intellect (and probably in even more ways than just through a steemit account).

I guess they feel it's easier money to take the low road.However, the legal consequences could be pretty harsh if authorities did catch them, which sadly they probably won't until many have been ripped off, or they may never get caught because they'll just move on to another platform or mode of gaining lucrative personal data from unsuspecting victims.

I am sorry you had this happen to you. Lucky you were clever enough to notice it was a scam and thank you for for taking the time to stand up for stuff like this. I too went to check out the user and flagged a few posts. But in a glass half full way of looking at things had this not happened you wouldn't have posted this and I wouldn't have come across your blog where I cannot wait to get stuck into your writings. Good luck with your book :)

Recently, phishing links become a problem. If you do not pay attention to it - the number of such scammers and spammers will grow. Instead of honestly making efforts to create content and earn honest money - they dishonestly steal accounts from other users. I support your struggle against this.
If you want to cut off those people's fingers (swindlers)- I will personally hand you an ax.

Thank you for informing Steemit community about this. Everyone should be careful to click such types of links which are seriously harmful for their accounts. Resteemed post for awareness.

This is some serious spam. Thanks for letting everyone know. If you look at that person's a comment it says someone copied your post. You click that and then it shows your post copied then wants you to sign in again. DON"T! Don't even click the links...this type of thing is so wrong.

Whoever needs to go somewhere else. I agree with your post about this whole thing.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64222.08
ETH 3135.29
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.99