I - WritersteemCreated with Sketch.

in #steemit7 years ago (edited)

I am a writer. It's what I do, it's what I've done every day (almost) for eighteen years.

Over that time I have honed my skills and practiced my writing to the point where I can tell I am a far better writer than I was when I started this 'career' back in 1999.

On Steemit.com I believed I had found a place where I could not only continue to share my writing but to also develop new stories and help other writers to get where they would like to be.

If a craftsman in woodwork spent eighteen years practising and perfecting his skill, would a person expect to buy a piece of furniture for the same price as they would have paid on the first day he started crafting wood?

I'd say not.

Someone has taken offence at me earning $60 for work that I wrote in 2012.

I've just explained that I am not the same writer I was back in 2012. I have learned, I have practised and I have made myself a better writer. Because I know my work was not up to the standards it would be if I wrote it today, I go over every single word I post. I read, edit and re-write every single post. I find appropriate images and I put them all into the post to make it even more interesting.

I give value in every post I write.

@transisto doesn't seem to like reading 'stories' and therefore, he/she has decided it's his/her place to stop people that do like my work from making their appreciation amount to any more than he/she believes it's worth.

The advice I would like to give to @transisto is this:

If you don't like what I post, move along. Don't read it. Don't bother yourself with it. Don't waste a downvote on me, on my posts.

Seriously, if you want to do some good on the platform, flag those that spam, post one word comments and then upvote themselves. Flag the real abusers, not the writers that are giving unique and original content.

I was starting to believe this could actually be a career for me, that my efforts would be rewarded, but according to @transisto that's not how he/she wants this platform to work and so it won't work like that.

@transisto has posted blogs saying @Whales, @Witnesses, We have to talk! Here

These days it seems like most of the whales don't care to police the other whales

It would appear this is entirely true because the only people that seem to have anything to say about this are people that have read and enjoyed my work.

My work doesn't get the massive rewards I've seen from others - it never has. My work has never hit the overall Trending page, only the trending page in Writing and Fiction etc.

I never minded about that because I get great feedback and fabulous comments about my writing.

Unfortunately, @transisto seems to believe he/she is justified in flagging my posts and negating other people's views on what they think my posts are worth. That's why I'm no longer giving my work to Steemit.

I'll post it on my blog elsewhere and my followers and fans can find my work because I'll be giving the links to my work.

That's it I'm afraid. I've done. I'll curate and post links and replies from here on in and you can thank @transisto

Thank you so much to everyone that has shown their support here, on chat and in other ways (FB) I sincerely do appreciate it all.

The only way I will be able to reconsider sticking around and only curating is if @transisto removes all the flags from my work and goes and does something useful with his/her votes instead.

Of course, @transisto could put his/her money where his/her mouth is and if he/she really does believe the rarer the content, the more it should be valued, he/she could always delegate half of his/her Steem to people who actually DO get people to join Steemit.com

If I've persuaded you to join Steemit.com please post your reply here. Let's see what the actual value of my promotion of Steemit is.

Sort:  

Why write for so long while completely disregarding everything I wrote in the other thread?

https://steemit.com/steemit/@yougotflagged/daily-flag-report-11-18-17#@transisto/re-yougotflagged-daily-flag-report-11-18-17-20171119t034010606z

I considered that the size of your viewership did not balance out with the reward that were allocated. Notice that I also didn't fully flag your post and flagged only a few of them.

Even after my flags you have $620.71 pending author rewards.

That's 620$ more than nothing.

If it's all it took for you to leave then good riddance!

It would appear there are more people that like my serialisations than agree with your self-imposed and I'll-conceived policing methods.

How about unflagging my posts?

They are original, well-written, good quality posts that give value and add to the platform's appeal. I'm not sure why you have taken such offence at 11 of my posts but popular consensus seems to disagree with you.

The people who vote on my posts like my writing and the way I put my stories on here, why not admit you may not have thought this out quite as much as you could have and remove the flags?

I'd think more of you for doing that and I'm sure I wouldn't be the only one.

popular consensus seems to disagree with you

Popular consensus isn't how this place is governed.

Steem is a very efficient transfer of value system, If these people want to support your work they can always send you Steem directly.

The daily reward pool is there for writers and curators and it's distribution is based on the voting patterns of each community within steemit such as those who vote for writers, photographers etc. Unless you are an elected witness here at steemit you have no authority to be 'policing' the reward pool.

Then what, you will punish them for sending her Steem? They already supported her by upvoting her posts. Popular consensus, although not embedded in Steem's design, remains an important factor in how the platform is functioning. That's what a blog is, right? To ignore it based on the blockchain's technicalities will not reduce the backlash you're getting.

Then what, you will punish them for sending her Steem?

What's the rational in this?

What backlash are you talking about?

All the commotion this flagging has created? Backlash?

I came to steemit because of Michelle, a place where I could post my work and have the possibility to earn as a social media blogging site. Now we are told the platform where we post and the reward pool isn't for us but for the investors. We can be flagged for earning too much by the same person that self votes his own comments, and we should just accept it.
That isn't the steemit I've know since i joined.

I'm here because Michelle invited me to take a look. I'm not doing as much as I'd like, but I do support her in her efforts to help writers on the platform.

I am here because you convinced me that this was a great community to be a part of to share my writing. It took me awhile to have the confidence to do so - @transisto, you have destroyed that for me and, I'm sure, for others. Michelle is an awesome writer and a huge credit to the Steemit world. I'm also a very good writer, but no longer have the confidence to share on this site. I've resteemed this post.

Sourced from Google free to use images![]

I am here because of you @michelle.gent and @s0ul - you have been an Ambassador for all that Steemit could be and should be as a platform, and you lead by example, not by guile.
Please stay, and accept the challenge of finding a way through this. You are extremely talented, and we all benefit from you being on here.

Hello Michelle. I am really sad to hear this news and hope very much a solution can be found.

One of your fans @bashadow kindly directed me here, hoping that my rep number might be of some use. Sadly we both know it's all about the SP and after living exclusively on steem for 7 months, things are not looking too hot in my steem wallet these days.

On a platform where there are no rules this is a tricky one. Those with the most steem have the most power. It can be no other way.

What really bugs me is that I am seeing more and more of this kind of thing on Steemit. People with SP dedicating their time to seeking out and flagging that which they don't agree with. Based on nothing more than personal preference.

My knee jerk reaction to this is always the same. I feel as if I want to create a pool of 'good guys' who flag them into oblivion. But then my sensible side kicks in and I remember we cannot fight fire with fire and by doing this we are lowering ourselves to their level.

Like I said, I hope a solution can be found and if there is anything I can do to help, please just let me know. Am just about to turn 71 and one thing is for sure... I will be writing about this growing problem on Steemit in my so called 'celebration' post.

Thank you.

No, you cannot fight fire with fire. You can't defeat hate with more hate.

I've been bullied before, and I did give up once.

I was beaten so badly that it became a police matter and the four assailants were taken to court.

As we were all kids, it got as far as the local Magistrate's court.

The Magistrate asked me, "Are you frightened of this girl?" (The ringleader.)

I replied, "Yes." Well, why not? She and her friends had kicked the living shit out of me and I can still show you the damage they inflicted - I have regular physio for some of it.

It was later - days, weeks, months - that my mind mulled it all over (as my mind does) and I started to think on my answer.

Four of them had beaten and kicked me, yet they hadn't killed me and while I'm not dead I can still get up and fight.

I fell off a horse a few years ago and hurt my shoulder. After 2 years of pain, I went to a physio. I didn't have a pulled muscle as I'd thought, I'd torn the muscles from the top 4 vertebrae in my spine and it wasn't healing, just hurting.

I can handle physical pain and still function.

This isn't painful, this doesn't hurt. These bullies aren't actually affecting me in any way that bothers me and while they're concentrating their efforts on me, how many people that they do bother are they leaving alone?

I look at it that I'm doing a public service and some people are getting some respite.

I doubt that it will help any, and of course I fully expect to be disappeared like a few others but I could not stand by and let this go.: posted to @ned on one of his post (The SMT one) and on one of his comments to a post 3 days ago, I hope he see's and reads one of them:

I hope you are able to read this @ned - - - Something seriously needs to be done. - - - Please read this post https://steemit.com/steemit/@michelle.gent/i-writer

Here was my comment to her "That totally sucks. I as you know, really appreciated being able to read your stories. It is what I enjoy doing, reading, then to have as ass wipe drive you away, I am more than slightly pissed off. And here is the problem child:

"The only way I will be able to reconsider sticking around and only curating is if @transisto removes all the flags from my work and goes and does something useful with his/her votes instead."

Can I as a new user do anything about this, other than to inform you of the problem, he has 495,379.986 STEEM (-130,561.023 STEEM), my downvote to him would not even be noticed.

I am sorry about what has transpired. I know there is not a lot that I can do, other than try to bring pressure to bear how ever I can.

That totally sucks. I as you know, really appreciated being able to read your stories. It is what I enjoy doing, reading, then to have as ass wipe drive you away, I am more than slightly pissed off.

I'm so sorry to read that you are being attacked so unfairly. I could use your kind of support and love reading what you share. I will look for your Facebook, but I'm not using it much at the moment. Hoping @Ned sees this and brings support.

I am here because of you although it did take a while for me to get going.

Yes, you're a great support <3

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 58157.69
ETH 3122.82
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.42