Steem Addict: How The Blockchain Swallowed Me Whole

in #steemit7 years ago (edited)

2 months in and all I ever talk and dream about now is STEEMIT.com

Why Steemit.com?

I have to admit, I've never been much of a social media freak. Yes, I once had a MySpace, and back in 2006 I first was invited to join Facebook. Although I posted and connected with a lot of my friends, I just never really liked the platform. I got tired of reading about people's problems, and eventually my news feed became cluttered with stories of people that I'd long forgotten.

Hungry to find something new and exciting, I was an early adapter to Vine, Snapchat, and Instagram.

Still after weeks of trying those platforms I became disinterested. My interest in social media died, better yet, it hit rock bottom.

May 16, 2017

I'm in a group text with some family and friends, and someone mentioned Bitcoin.

It's crazy to think it was less then 3 months ago that I first heard about crypto currencies. May 24th was the first day I heard about Steemit.com thanks to @drewley. I joined that day, but it took 9 days for me to get accepted!!! I couldn't stand the thought of having to wait any longer!

June 2, 2017

This was the day I became addicted and almosed overdosed. Lol. Steemit.com was more than just a social media blockchain platform, it became a part of me.

Being new to the whole cryptocurrency thing, and burned out from previous social media sites still, I didn't know where to start. In the first 3 weeks I worked a full time job, and still spent an easy 4-6 hours per day flipping through post, and posting things of my own. I'd become a junkie... I lost interest in everything around me for those first few weeks, watching my post make a couple pennies was like the best thing ever. Lol.

I've never been much of a blogger, and I don't care too much to write about myself, so I started to become disinterested in this platform like other social media sites. That was until I found colorchallenge and @papa-pepper. Although I didn't win his meme challenge, I was still able to showcase my photoshop skills and earn a few bucks doing something I love. That post can be found [Here](https://steemit.com/wildnstrange/@michael14876/my-entry-for-the-wild-and-strange-contest-season-6-round-2-art-contest-spartan)

I think what I'm trying to say is that you don't have to try to be someone you're not here on Steemit.com. This community has something for everyone! Yes, it's swallowed me whole, but I think after it spits me out of the honeymoon phase, I'll still be intrigue, and continue to want to learn and grow with this community of steemians!

Thanks @stellabelle for the title of this post, and encouraging me to write this!

Photos from pexels.com and boingboing.net

Sort:  

Hi there, i think its awesome that your motivation is still very high after 2 month on steemit. Youre almost at 500steem, which will give you the "slider" :). Heres a little help

Thanks @steemboys! I appreciate that!

steeem and crypto addict here myself

Join Bitconnect Here -
https://bitconnect.co/?ref=shifty0g

Use code "vOBKXh" and get 2.5% off every purchase on Genesis Mining!
https://www.genesis-mining.com/

Follow Me On Steemit!
https://steemit.com/@shifty0g

Hi Michael, you got it right on in the last paragraph.

I think what I'm trying to say is that you don't have to try to be someone you're not here on Steemit.com. This community has something for everyone!

I have found a good circle of people with similar interests, fun contests for drawing and photography, and who write solid inspirational posts promoting the community side of Steemit. We can just be ourselves and find where we fit in.

Thanks for the comment @steempowerpics! And yes, there is a lot of good inspiration on this platform!

Sure is, and stellabelle, sykochica, and merej99 were some of the first community building leaders I found when I joined Steemit. They put so much time and effort into helping bring people together, I love it.

it feels like the new facebook and reddit in one. And theres $$$..

I know how you feel. I started steenit the first week of july and ive never writen this much or have read as much i do now. I knew about crypto from a brief online marketing experiment in 2013 but never put no mind to it and like 1 week before i found steemit i started getting in to crypto. I came for the cryptocurrency "steem" but stayed for the community. I love it here. making money and learning about crypto i plan to stay here for a long long time

Yeah, Steemit it a really interesting place! You definitely have to find your niche, but once you do, it's a lot of fun!

This is my story, man. I'm hopeless.

You win the award for Steemit Community from Best of Steemit, by the way. The rest of the award winners are on my blog. Congratulations.

Wow @cristof! I'm glad you liked it! I'll go check out your blog!

I did like it. I'm an addict. It's either saving or ruining my life, I can't tell which.

I totally understand you my friend.

2 weeks since i'm here and in my free time always on steemit, commenting, reading beautiful posts, increasing my general knowledge.

I waited 8 days and every day i was hopping i was accepted because i was ready to post and comment but nothing, i got no answer from them.
The 9th day i decided and ask help from my friends so they would give 6 steem and register me instantly.

Is not the money that make the people come, but the idea of the money is so nice and everybody is doing his best to get the rewards.Doesn't matter if those rewards are little for the beginning.

Thank you for sharing your thoughts.

Followed for some more

Yes, the idea that you can make money on here is a very intriguing tactic. More than that though, there really is a great community of people on here! Thanks for commenting!

2 months in and all I ever talk and dream about now is STEEMIT.com

Dream!!! that means you sleep??

:-)

Maybe i'm so delusional from lack of sleep, that I think i'm dreaming, but in reality i'm still awake. How do I know for certain? lol

Glad to see that I'm not the only one who can find this place addicting. Steemit can always use more great people.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.32
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66384.36
ETH 3272.25
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.27