Many upvotes and zero comments. What does it mean?

in #steemit8 years ago



Hello Steemit gang!


Many of my stories gain quite a number of upvotes, but no comments. I wonder what does it mean?

If you don’t like the story at all, then what is the reason for an upvote? That's how I do, just move along. However, maybe people upvote only because of some curation benefits?

I guess I should be happy. I am getting paid, what else?

Surely, I agree with Paul Mccartney. "An artist is writing for himself. If people like it, it makes him/her happy." To extend on this thought, if people don’t like it, it makes an artist unhappy.

However, what if he doesn’t know. People seem to respond, but in a very obscure way.

Anyhow, I am curious about your opinion.

What does it mean when you upvote, without commenting?

Sort:  

Bots. Bots bots bots. The one I think that is the worst is of course the broken cheetah bot. But the other ones that are meant to have good purpose like automatic upvoting of posts, those are the second worse, but still all bad imo.

I wish people would get off auto curation of anything on Steemit, it makes things look odd when views, comments, and votes, seem to have no reality with each other.

Views has been broken since the start thought, I see my Steemit traffic views through other sources, like clicks to posts coming from Twitter, and can say views don't match the numbers I see just from that. They should have it turned off from unique views and have it set to just hit a number every page hit or something.

Thank you! Why go to such an extent as to create a voting bot? Whom and how does voting on an entry might benefits?

I believe these auto curation things are put in place with good intentions. I can't say for sure because I use none of them, but I can see SteemD and see who even votes on my own posts, and I know those users are not online 24 hours a day, but I do see real life users using those accounts at some time. I think the worst of it though is the cheetah bot, at the least the autocuration bots that people seem to use are doing positive work of upvoting and maybe distributing wealth, but the ones with negative outcomes for users seems like they should be stopped right away, especially since the cheetah bot has so many false positives on peoples posts and then auto votes up it's own comments.

Someone is getting rich from that bot https://steemit.com/cheetah/@tsxbox/my-curiosity-and-detective-work-on-cheetah-about-content-detection-robot-bot , maybe the auto upvoting things there is something similar going on. These are all just theories though, I fully admit to having no full clue as to what or why these things continue.

EDIT: Pretty funny, as I was making this comment, the stuff was happening live on one of my posts, within just literally a 2 minute timespan I got nearly a hundred votes on this post https://steemit.com/comics/@cryplectibles/comic-crossovers-that-really-happened-batman-adventures-mashes-up-with-wolverine-from-1997 if I go over to SteemD I can see that these users or bots all have their percentages set to the same or similar things https://steemd.com/@cryplectibles The thing is, I know some of the user names doing this, and I know there are some real life people behind those accounts.

Constructive criticism requires the poster to put a lot of effort into rationally thinking about what they liked or disliked about the piece they have read. It simply requires too much effort for most people. In general people follow their emotionally driven "gut" feeling, and don't want to explain why they feel that way.


ColdMonkey mines Gridcoin through generating BOINC computations for science...

That's a great explanation. Thank you!

Well, now you can see how many views had your post...150 votes usually mean 10-30 views

Hi,

Thank you! 150 upvotes means 10 to 30 views? I don't understand. When I upvote, doesn't it automatically means I am viewing the post?

No, it doesn't ) Most upvotes are made by bots nowdays.
It so happend that I've seen your post, but even if I wouldn't your post would get an upvote from me anyway, because you are on my SteemVoter list ;)
However only views from Steemit users are counted now, so theoretically your post could get plus few hundred views from site visitors...or even some thousends of views if landing on the trending page.

Sorry for asking these naive questions. Do people who have these Voting lists get any bang from it? It would have never occurred to me to vote on some entries without reading them.

It would have never occurred to me to vote on some entries without reading them.

Modern trend is vote first, read later, if ever

Why would I vote for something I don't like? I am so old fashioned. Wink.

Sometimes it's just so well written that there is not much to say :) other than great post.
Maybe some sort of auto comment or more granular voting buttons might be good. Or a voting button that upvotes and follows at the same time.

Thank you! Wouldn't it be nice to think so?
Somehow, voting bots sound much less appealing but, alas, more realistic. 😉

Ha ha true. I must make more of an effort to comment on good posts :)

That's a noble wish. Respect!

💪

I like commenting, have followed you so I can liven up your future posts:)

Thank you for commenting and following!

thanks for sharing about "upvote and 0 comments" @mgaft1 most misunderstood

Thank you for stopping by and commenting!

Totally agree , by the way you make every one up vote this blog comment also

Thank you!

LOL. I don't think MAKING someone comment is the right approach either. In this case, people would only cut and paste some pre-recorded messages. Yet, it is nice to have an idea, some sort of a contact, because, ultimately, that's what we all want. Unless, of course, people are here only for financial gain.

Your posts mainly got upvoted by curation guilds like curie. Curie uses donated steem power from certain whales and other accounts to reward good posts that are undervalued. You can suggest this kind of posts in the #curie Steemit chat channel (just follow the guidelines). That's the reason you may see sudden spike in the number of votes and the reward. These guilds are here to support newer accounts that can't quite make it on their own. So focus on building connections and followers so you don't have to rely on them in the future. :)

Thank you! I am here since August. Not sure if I qualify as a new account. So, basically, only a few actual people voted for me. Thank you for making this clear.

No problem. :) Yeah, your post had maybe 20 upvotes before I suggested it on the curie channel last night. Curie follows users that are up to around 62 rep, so you're still eligible. But don't worry, after you pass that certain level, Steem Guild, which is similar guild like Curie, but only for more established users, will look after you. :)

You just continue to create good content and build connections and you'll be fine.

Thank you again. That's nice to know. I am trying to do my best. :)

My last post almost matched up. The difference is for me that I share my content all over the freaking internet. Over 30 places and bring eyeballs from outside Steemit.

Congratulations. That's pretty smart. But how could people outside Steemit vote in Steemit? Shouldn't they be logged into Steemit first?

They can't, but bringing people from outside boosts the view counter and helps my posts rank in Google search.

"What does it mean when you upvote, without commenting?"

It means someone upvoted, without commenting. Like someone can comment, and not upvote as well. And yes, there are bots to account for.

I thought I explained it in my write up. But you probably didn't read it. Anyhow, I mostly write stories and as an author am interested what people are thinking about my work. Instead, I get no comments at all, but many upvotes, like 150 or so. So if I like the post, I upvote it, if I don't like it, I don't upvote. If I am consistent within this logic out of 150 of those people who "liked" my shit, at least, one could have written something. But they don't. That was the conundrum.

However, the folks here explained to me what's going on. So thanks for stopping by! Appreciated your interest and your comment.

I read your initial concern. I meant to answer that we can't determine why someone does what they do, many possible variations. I also though you knew about bots. My voting isn't consistent, and I don't always comment. Sorry for not being specific. I would like manual curation to really represent what each person values.

No need to sorry. Thank you for your help!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.14
TRX 0.12
JST 0.025
BTC 53615.59
ETH 2344.94
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.13