You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: 🆘I'm Still Jonesing For That "Edit" Button! - Please???🆘

in #steemit7 years ago

I have mixed feelings about editing old posts. In a way, it may be construed as "sour grapes" but what's the point of editing an old post to be more current (or evergreen) if you're not getting paid out past 7 days? This question makes me sound like I'm only here for the payout, which has never been the case but does anyone really look at those old posts? Is it worth the effort to go back and edit? I'm tossed about it!

Sort:  

I have a rather different viewpoint...

Yes, payouts are nice; but my primary goal here is to create an archive of my thought. Something that my descendants will one day be able to access, if they wish, and say "So that's who he was..."

The nature of the potential permanence of the Steemit blockchain is such that it should make such an archive a real possibility. And, even for the more "short term" case, if I am able to maintain a good Table of Contents, that in and of itself ought to help me attract and keep "real readers," and it is READERS that I really hope for here! ;)

And yes, in my experience (especially with my TOC) people do go back and read older posts! :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 58450.19
ETH 2652.63
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43