OK...SBD at $.96, and STEEM at $.58...DEFINITELY OK to panic now.

in #steemit6 years ago

Can anyone tell me why I shouldn't?...and don't just give me the knee jerk..."We're bound to bounce back" crap, unless you have a real reason for saying so. This place has been on a steady decline since I signed up over 6 months ago, now.

I KEEP WORKING HARDER AND HARDER FOR LESS AND LESS.

I love everything about the concept other than the fact we don't seem to have anyway to monetize the website. It feels like catching a falling knife to invest more at these prices, and I have got to say I've never been more upset about what I am seeing around here than I am now.

HELP!?!?

Sort:  

You chose a very bad six months - I've been here 27 months and I've seen much better and also much worse - I just touched on this in my latest post - the short answer is I have no idea but ultimately I'd say the same about all cryptos...
https://steemit.com/teamnz/@frot/threenewsteemitdevelopments-3usjps06wq

I just realized you weren't on my follow list. Imagine that !
so I just 'followed'.
After seeing this photo, I might unfollow you...
lol

LOL...not sure what that meme is about, but thanks for the rest of your comment. Checking out your post now....

That is a photo of some actor called Tom Hardy who is now a sex symbol in America, who posted that selfie on Myspace - stylish! We all make mistakes...

(this could all be rubbish, I haven't done any checking)

LOL...ok.

I did see that again on your blog.

You are correct there is no time to panick. Keep stacking your silver. This is the beginning of the bear market for the world.

There is a piece on the trending list about an investment group to buy steem up to 3.5. Buy more steem to get more power and earn more rewards. When the trend does fully change then we can start to liquidate.

The SteemBTC ratio is bounding off a major support like 10500 satoshi. All chains are connected to BTC dominance. When people realize not all chains are the same we might get some real market movement.

Worry more about the fall of America.

Posted using Partiko Android

Thanks, nt. I do worry a lot more about the fall of America, for sure!

USD is running out of time too. Put everything in gold or silver.

Food, guns and silver rounds. I hear ya....

You die if you worry, and you die if you don't - so why worry?

(this is much more philosophical after a couple of whiskey's)

LOL...we need to do that some time....(so I can check.)

Steem is a new technology. It therefore faces unprecedented risk, and may potentially attain novel utility and value. Anyone that encourages you to invest in a 'sure thing' is not your friend. Consider the Lehman Brothers bankruptcy, or the recent degrading of GE debt, and note that there are no companies, governments, or even life itself that is immune from existential risk. There are no sure things.

No matter what you invest in, accept that there is a level of risk in investing, because there is.

It is difficult to analyze risk/reward potential for Steem, due to it's novelty, and this makes it rather unsuitable for inexperienced investors. That being said, my investment in Steem comes as a result of my blogging, which I will do anyway, if not on a Steem-based platform, then one that provides no ancillary investment benefit at all, so it's a 'sure thing' for me, because any downside potential only makes it the equal of other blogging platforms, and any upside potential is completely risk free, as I have invested no capital.

That may or may not be the case for you, and you need to do due diligence as necessary to analyze your investment in Steem, as you must with any investment. There is risk, even existential risk, of any capital you invest being lost, or of that capital not producing the gains expected when you invest it. There is also real potential for Steem to outperform your expectations. You must do the reckoning as best you are able, and proceed to exercise your authority to conduct your affairs, mindful that you are responsible for that conduct.

@kingscrown recently posted that a major investing newsletter recommended buying Steem at a price of $3.50. I did not check out the newsletter, and recall he didn't either, but claimed it was considered reputable. My own analysis of the blogging platform/social media space recommends Steem as the 'gorilla king' in it's industry. There really isn't yet a meaningful alternative to the token in the space, and I expect the space to gain market share versus other social media platforms that do not offer any payment to users, for the obvious reason.

Those are the best actual reasons I am aware of to consider Steem as an investment, and I am not an investor, so doubt that's an exhaustive list. Nonetheless, those are convincing and compelling to me, in my circumstances, and you may investigate and consider how they relate to your circumstances. I offer them in that light, that you may proceed to conduct your affairs as best suits your needs.

Good luck - and may the rewards of due diligence inure to you as you execute it.

WOW! Thanks. I didn't expect anyone to take that kind of time to respond. I appreciate it. Lots of wisdom there... most particularly:

"That being said, my investment in Steem comes as a result of my blogging, which I will do anyway, if not on a Steem-based platform, then one that provides no ancillary investment benefit at all, so it's a 'sure thing' for me, because any downside potential only makes it the equal of other blogging platforms, and any upside potential is completely risk free, as I have invested no capital."

I'm exactly in that same position in every way.

It's just frustration.

It will pass.

I hope.

howdy sir mepatriot! no one has any proof of improvement coming? It's a little hard to keep sacrificing so much time that's for sure. Ever since we started people have been saying don't worry, prices will bounce back.

No proof asked...just hope. Hope is low, atm...

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 64112.50
ETH 3174.45
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.54