You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Never Steem while under the influence!

in #steemit6 years ago

Well, this is a good one. Got a lot of grey/gray area to swim around in here. Some of the greatest artist known in history (not that this is a bragging point) had major substance abuse issues. Depending on what your voice is here, I could see this being very debatable, just because I'm not here to tell someone how to drive their creative brand. Yes, I agree with the implication of being responsible with our new found tool set, and access, but if you are a poet that gets lost in a bottle of moonshine before writing the most profound words of your life (this is anecdotal of course), then who are we to limit their ability to create. I'm also not encouraging it either. As a performer in bars and clubs, I have dealt with this topic a lot. A glass or two of wine while writing, or three fingers of scotch before you take the stage just to help remove the judgmental influences of the frontal cortex can't hurt, in my humble opinion. If you curate though, you have to stay sober because you are reading, understanding, responding, selecting, speaking on, and promoting. These require presence. Art can be found out in the darkness sometimes. Moving to your specific questions though, I don't live with regrets, try not to, so the answer is honestly, no. Even if I had made an a$$ of myself, I wouldn't regret it, I'd learn from it or laugh at it. No one is perfect. I have been completely exhausted trying to play catch up on comments and probably left a couple ambiguous comments or just unrelated ramble, presumably. I've driven places and not remembered because of the same exhaustion, so anything is possible. Now, my writing in other assisted states of mind, debatable, and again probably has a lot to do with ones standards and purpose on the platform. I probably still wouldn't click post without a healthy sober proof-reading.

Sort:  

@mental-extract, I completely agree with your comment about the gray area. I think that the distinction that you made about loosening up to perform and be creative versus activities like reading, understanding, responding, selecting, speaking on, and promoting is extremely important.

We all have different thresholds, and we all have our vices.

More than being a strong rule to follow (because who am I to make a Steemit rule), I hope that this post will help people think about their circustmances and state of mind when they enter our community to post.

Thanks for the great addition to the conversation.

I agree, it's worth mentioning. This isn't your average blog community. Thank you and you are welcome. My pleasure.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.12
JST 0.027
BTC 64664.97
ETH 3401.05
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.31