Creating My Steemit Cover Image Using GIMP2!

in #steemit6 years ago (edited)

Looking to make your blog stand out? Want your cover photo to make a statement to your future followers?

Well, my name is James, aka Mental Extract, and I'm here to help out if I may! When I had the idea to make myself a custom #cover image, I had a hard time getting an exact dimension. After clicking around a few old posts, I compared, found a couple that agreed, inspected the elements on my page, and decided to use 1286 x 173. When I was going to school at Auburn University, I became familiar with a lot of the #opensource projects, including #GIMP2 (which I love), so I went to work!

22rcmv.gif

First, I really do enjoy the digital avatar look, so I downloaded a handful of my own bitmoji's. I had imagined arranging them all around at different sizes and attempt to tell a little more about myself personally, some of the things I like, or do, at least what bitmoji had to offer, lol.Snapshot_93.jpeg
I grab a few of the images, open them separately, and begin arranging them on different layers, so as I go along, I can adjust what's on top (and my mistakes). A good little trick I have learned through my self teachings of graphic design, separate layers!Snapshot_105.jpeg
This edit is super simple since I wanted to keep a white background and not a lot of additional effects. Most all of the #bitmoji backgrounds are white, so I only have to trim a few here and there to keep from overlapping. I could always add more complex backgrounds, blends, shadows, gradients, custom fonts, the works! After stamping all my little images, and adjusting their fit, you have a pretty cool looking cover photo:BitmojiBanner(SteemStamp).jpg

The Bitmoji #Steemit Personality Cover


Hacking up digital images and creating new ones, just like I do with tracks when I DJ, is one of my favorite things to do on the computer. I've always had that visual creative side, but didn't have the patience to develop my drawing hand when I was young. This allows me to fix my mistakes more easily, lol. After I'm all done, save it, and then upload it anywhere online, so you can link it to your blog! I used this post to do just that. If you are the #DIY type, I hope this helped. Please feel free to ask any questions below, but..

Do You Want Your Own Custom Cover Image?
Would you like your Bitmoji included, too?
I WANT TO HELP!


•Comment here @mental-extract or message me on #discord: Mental Extract
•We will chat about some of your interests
•If you have a Bitmoji, go ahead and save some of your favorites to send me (tip: change the outfit for each one).
•I will work on a layout, and send you a preview, so you can make requests :) (allow 24-48 hrs for each transmission)
•Once you approve, I'll finalize and send it over! (via: email, Discord, Dropbox link, etc.)

Respectfully compensate my time & creativity!


To whatever measure you deem appropriate...

In SBD of course! :)

Dimes or Dollars, anything helps M.E. build #Steem! I'm here to support this community, create fun, entertaining, good content, and build a voice to positively influence family, friends, my community, Planet Earth, & Steemians! I have found the best way to do that is to Power Up, as I suggest we all do. I just want to let you know where your tips would be spent, and that it's for the cause! Building an economy around this currency will be part of its success. Again, #GIMP2 is #opensource, so if you are the DIY type, save the #SBD, and I'd still be happy to help with any questions you have! Just ask!

Thank you, thank you, thank you for your time, and for swinging by the blog! Please introduce yourself, or leave a comment. Start a conversation, or tell me how goofy my Bitmoji looks. Either way, I appreciate all the support, and you have to know, y'all are the true heroes! (Every vote matters.) Huge shout out to @grow-pro for the Steem Badges! He hooked it up, great job! Much love, and 'til next time...

no1-steemit-icon-giveaway-mental-extract.png

Sort:  

Nice cover @mental-extract! You should consider joining us in the STEEM Freelancer's Guild - check out @steemfreelancers - we are only 2 weeks running and have made major strides already. Membership increases by 50% at the end of January.

Also, try using the #steemgigs tag for services to expand your audience to those seeking services. The tag has been subject to abuse in the past, but we are working on ways to eliminate that. There's a lot of wild surprises to come, my friend. I'm working on a project now that requires some help and I will be sourcing services from the guild.

I'm never far away, so hurl any questions right at me! ✌️😎

Duuude, thank you! Most def. I feel like my stuff is just kind of amateur, but expressive. I, when challenged, can focus on slick, clean, specific tasks without getting too crazy, lol. I will use tag for sure, thank you for sharing. Would love to join up with the Guild. Love guilds! (apologies, cheesy MMORPG joke, I tend to "write out loud" a lot) Again, thank you for hooking up that sweet badge! Would love to learn how to build bad a$$ templates like that, so I could power out clean projects like that. I will definitely stay in touch.

Much appreciation dude! Figured it would help continue to introduce myself to people as they find my page.

Congratulations! This exceptional post has been featured in Episode 4 of The STEEM Engine Express Podcast. Click the link to hear what I had to say, and keep up the good work!

Nice! I love all the Bitmoji giving us a glimpse to your personality. Does make for a much more interesting cover

Great Post man. I am so happy that I have found your post right now please join the STEEMIT POETS UNITED Discord We have just started and we desperately need a creative like yourself. Thanks a lot. God Bless You. Peace and Love. I will try to do something on my own with this program but I doubt that I will have any success as I am not really a design type of guy ... Well hope to see you soon.

Done and done. Would love to be a part of the community. Glad to help with tips, or do the work for you if you ever need some thumbnail images or promotional stuff designed. I love this stuff. Self taught, but I have a great community here that I can tap into for help! Joined the @steemfreelancers :) Excited the let such a newbie in, 😂

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by Mental Extract from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Hello, you received a boost courtesy of @steemdunk! Steem Dunk is an automated curation platform that is easy and free for use by everyone. Need a boost? Click me

Upvote this comment to support the bot and increase your future rewards!

I'm a huge fan of GIMP, as well. @Catweasel and I use it to make the cover images for the Daily Whistle Stops for @thesteemengine, and I have used it to create countless other images and graphics.

I'm also a fan of Bitmoji, but I've never considered using so many of them for a cover image. It's a great idea! Thanks so much for sharing!

I appreciate it. I know it's chaotic, but it tells a lot about me :) Figured it appropriate given the culture here :). GIMP is awesome!!!

It really is! Once you unlock the power of layers in image editing, your world is never the same!

I've come to notice :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 59238.58
ETH 3176.28
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.45