You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: WIN !!!!! 500 !!!!! STEEMPOWER !!!!!..... ENTER STEEMIT DAILY SWEEPSTAKES ..... 100 WINNERS EVERYDAY

in #steemit8 years ago

There are a lot of legal hoops to jump through go to the legal link I put in the post . Also There are alot of companies who do sweepstakes I think steemit should be considering one . I believe if done right STEEMIT and all steemins would benefit .

Sort:  

Years back when I was working with a digital advertiser, we did a sweepstakes offer across mobile devices. I started out having to deal with the legalese, then when the media director left in the middle of the project, I had to finish bringing it to market. I can tell you based upon my own expereince, a sweepstakes is a double edged sword.

Let's put aside the lengthy (and costly) legal requirements of running a sweepstakes offer and focus on what goal trying to be accomplished and if a sweepstakes offer will help achieve that goal.

Consider a sweepstakes like an incentives based lead generation ecosystem. In the advertising game, incentives based leads are all known to be dog shit because, while you get registrations and numbers (which Steemit already is getting in droves), you do not get engagement and genuine product interest. People will sign up only for the free iPad, cash or (in this case) STEEM.

The goal should be more about engagement than registration, so the sweepstakes should have some barriers of entry, such as either engagement based upon contribution (such as only people who have written a blog entry within the past week are eligible), or engagement based upon curation and sifting (such as only people who have both voted and commented within the past week are eligible). The key to getting the quality lead/registration/action you are looking for is to understand how to incentivize actions which create the continued desired outcome.

A sweepstakes should not necessarily be a regular thing, because it will then become the reason people engage, rather than the reason you are hoping they will engage.

My $0.02 based upon my own experience for what it's worth.

lpfaust you raise some very good points and I agree the main goal should be to raise activity on the platform . If done correctly new members and increased activity can both be accomplished . Thank you for your input .

I didn't even take into consideration the rent-seekers and shakedown artists...oops...I mean the government. I can understand legal restrictions on lotteries to prevent scams, but not really for sweepstakes. Oh well.

I understand that you are discussing Steemit the entity conducting the sweepstakes, which is a good idea. I was wondering about individual whales.

It is also interesting how these laws would apply to those outside the US.

yes a whole lot of legal sh** to consider .

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 60268.51
ETH 3201.96
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43