Don't Know What to Post About? Get Personal!

in #steemit6 years ago (edited)


I call bullshit on your claim that you have nothing to post about!


Over the last couple of weeks I've spoken with a few people who say that they've got nothing to write about on Steemit. I find this hard to believe. As I know something about these people, and given their experiences in life I know that they have some amazing stories to tell.

It's natural to get writers (or video creators) block from time to time. And it's at these times that I personally like to draw on a personal experience to talk about, and the lessons that I learned from these experiences.

I do this for a couple of reasons.

  • Firstly, personal experiences are easy to talk about. The content almost creates itself. And the lessons are real, genuine and well worth discussing.
  • Secondly, there are bound to be people out there who are currently going through the experience that I have gone through. So maybe the lessons that I have learned, or the journey that I went on, can help those people.

Source


We all have unique stories and experiences to share, so why not share them


I'm yet to meet someone who hasn't got a very unique and interesting story to tell, and I meet many, many people every month. In the video above I tell a couple of these stories, but there are many.

Even my wife tells me that she has nothing to write about, and she speaks 3 languages, is a scientist, has travelled extensively, and volunteers for 3 organisations. How could she possibly have nothing of significance to share?


Get personal, tell us something about your life!


So my advice today is to get personal, if you're running out of things to write about, share a hard earned lesson from your life, or an interesting tale from your life. Just share something about yourself that means something to you.

You're almost certain to get a very positive response from the Steemit community. Personally, I've shared some very personal stories on Steemit, and not once did I get a negative comment. If anything, I've received some fantastic feedback and some excellent advice from people who have had similar experiences.

Who knows, I may have even helped someone.


The music of choice for today was Sister Jane - Whole Wide World


Get writing, or video making, or both.... just create something!



▶️ DTube
▶️ IPFS
Sort:  

Well, if there's nothing to post about, the best topic you can think of is yourself. We can always tell stories of what happened with our day can't we?

Unless that story is about how you washed the dishes :P

This sounds like a timely post as far as the folks you've been running into are concerned.

For me, though, it's not so much what to write about. You may have guessed that already. :) It's just making sure I leave enough lead time to put things together when I want them done so they're not bleeding into other things I'm trying to accomplish.

I know it isn't for some people, but life experiences should be a no brainer for subject matter. There are things that are painful to relive as you recount them, but then, that's not necessarily where you start. There should be all kinds of things to write about before you have to tap into that, if you've lived more than thirty years or so, and even then, some people do a lot of living before their thirty.

Besides, what else have they been posting on Facebook and Instagram? Their LIFE. So why should it be any different here?

Very good points. Life experiences are easy to target topics and should come easily to anyone.

I think some people think that this is where you find a niche and only focus on that. But for me, staying to a niche didn't work well. I found it easier to post about a diverse range of topics, basically anything that came to mind.

This post is actually another example of a thought that stuck in my mind that I couldn't shift. And it originated from a couple of conversations that I'd had. So it had to be put down on pixels.

Totally agree, one thing i do though is engage with the community. In those times when i don't have the drive to write, i put genuine comments on posts, and sometimes, i have earned more from comments than a post.,

I do the same thing sometimes. Or both... it depends on the level of my Steemit addiction. :P

Thank you very much for this, to be honest the idea never even came to me.

You're welcome, glad to have helped.

What I like about getting real and writing personal is it begins to reveal vulnerabilities that are universal, it's kind of like the internet can sit in as the universal shrink. I just wrote a post like that at https://steemit.com/personal/@andy.cline/the-day-you-see-yourself-in-the-mirror . I'm new and welcome some love : )

You're quite right. Many people can relate your experiences and lessons. Will check out your post. Be careful about link dropping though. It can get you flagged by some users.

My wife is similar to yours, she thinks no one would be interested in what she finds interesting.

For me, I find the Information Finding Championship ( @ifc by @apolymask) gives me a creative hook to hang off for a good post. Definitely worth checking out if you need an occasional spark of inspiration!

I'll definitely check that out, thanks for the tip.

This might work.
Most times rather than write about me, I prefer to write about love, hate, sports, thoughts etc.
Hmm, maybe I'll just start from my experience and let the rest find their way out.

Writing about your own experience does write itself. :)

Yep, I agree...getting personal gets you moving with your blogging time to time. Posting photos and memes are helpful. The only issue is your memes get posted here...

Yeah I'm not a fan of memes but posting your own photography can be good to keep things moving. There's nothing quite like a well written personal story though.

When I started on Steemit I always worried I wouldnt have enough to write about so I started a word document with things I could write about and added to it when I had new ideas. After a while I stopped this - and now it seems I have to much to write about!

That's a nice problem to have. :)

Great message, Mazzle. Try looking into the lens :)

That's the problem with using a phone, it encourages you to look at the screen. Thanks for the tip though, will practice for my next video. :D

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 67343.52
ETH 3227.30
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.65