You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: A Steemit Future for Fiction

in #steemit7 years ago (edited)

I must say what you wrote really makes sense and hits a nerve. I have never been published except for literary journals back in college and being an associate editor for the literary arm of the college paper.

What you say is true. Once you hit publish on that short story, poem or rough draft of whatever story line you have been working on in internet will always be there. I cringe at some of the blog stories and articles I have written through the years and I have lost access to those mediums. Even if you delete it their will be a cached version somewhere. Whatever you publish in the net stays in the net forever.

Lately I have been joining those free writing assignments and I have been fleshing out a continued story. I know I would never have this publish or have someone pay me to put it out because at this point I am still trying to polish my skills. I am not even that confident.

I get cents for what I right and of course I would like to get something higher but I primarily write to exercise the demons out of my system. Writing has been always a cathartic exercise for me especially when depression hits.

Hopefully the style, the feedback that I get here will help me grow as a writer. If ever I get enough courage to publish, I would look back and say the seeds was from here.

Incidentally what's your take on Wattpad?

Sort:  

She has a way of doing that. ;-)

I have no knowledge of wattpad really, to be honest. I had installed it on something at one point years ago when looking for free reading material--my book budget is zero and libraries here will primarily hand me stuff in translation, unless I limit myself to Danish authors (which I've done in the past, but it challenges me more than I find enjoyable in many cases, especially when the historical stuff is what appeals to me and it's written in old fashioned Danish that is too different from what I'm able to read and write)--and I wasn't impressed. I didn't find much that was worth reading. I preferred libraries and thrift shops to the options there. If you want to work on your writing, you might want to check out the Block. I know what you mean about writing to get rid of demons... but even then I found it worked better when I worked on the story and got feedback on it. It turned it around into something I could be proud of instead of something that dragged me down. I don't write that way so much anymore, but it was an important part of my growth as a writer.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 59329.35
ETH 2613.53
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44