Details on how I purchased a Udemy course with money made by blogging on Steemit

in #steemit7 years ago

I've been wanting to buy a Udemy course on node.js. Here's how I did it with money earned here on Steemit.

My introduceyourself post did really well and I got a significant (for me) payout. I didn't power it up all right away, but I did convert the Steem Backed Dollars (SBD) to STEEM and left it in my account.

Last night, I was reading @breakingtonight's post on Fiat to Steem and made some comments on it. Another user named @soundlegion and I made a few comments back and forth and soon we decided to experiment on a trade.

Screenshot from 2017-07-30

@soundlegion paid me the current rate of $1.19 per steem for 10 steem to my PayPal account, which I sent her the ID to in an email. Once I received the amount in my PayPal account, I used my Steemit wallet to send her 10 steem.

Screenshot from 2017-07-30

After that, I went to Udemy and purchased the course that I had been wanting that was on sale for $10.

Screenshot from 2017-07-30

@soundlegion already published her thoughts on our little experiment. All in all, I think it was a success.

However, right away in the comments there were people warning against doing this kind of thing. Especially against using PayPal for the payment as there is a risk that the PayPal transaction could be revoked or cancelled. There is this risk and I don't recommend using PayPal for larger transactions or doing any trading of large amounts (especially with people you haven't done deals with before).

Do any of you have suggestions on how to improve the process on this kind of person-to-person trade? I'd like to see more of this kind of thing happen and a real economy develop around Steemit.

Let me know what you think!

Sort:  

This was a great experience! I had no problem with it and in cases that felt right I would do it again. Thanks @matthewdavid for the fun little experiment and huges blessings your way.
*sorry delay on seeing this I cant find anything on steemit without a journey

There are people on localbitcoin from who you can buy large amounts of btc with paypal, and it is guaranteed by the site I understand.

I've looked into LocalBitcoins, but haven't tried them yet.

Only problem there is the traders take a cut.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.11
JST 0.031
BTC 68745.77
ETH 3744.06
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.76