The new normal

in #steemit8 years ago

I noticed a stranger on the tram, and realised I knew less about him than I could have a decade ago.
He was in his late teens, long greasy hair, skaterboy clothes, camo backpack and an unassuming demeanour.

Ten years ago, I could safely guess he was likely a student, or employed in a fairly low skilled role.
His impact on the world minimal and his capacity to be of benefit to me even smaller.
This morning though, I know a lot less. He may have started mining bitcoin as a 12 year old, 6 years ago.
He might be a major contributor or whale here. They do exist in meatspace, and he's as likely a candidate as anyone else. He may be in a position to hire me to pick up his drycleaning at triple my current wage, or he might be a potential new addition to my follower list, with lots of juicy upvote power.


https://www.flickr.com/photos/elijerma/

He's probably just another awkward teenager, but I can't be as sure as I used to be.
This ambiguity presents an interesting change in social dynamic.
Second amendment fans like to say,
'A well armed society is a polite society'
Uncertainty over whether/not another person is armed encourages a minimum standard of civility and kindness toward everyone.
Likewise, the possibility that any individual could actually be of benefit, will translate into an increase in the extent of civility and kindness in society, as many pretty women know from personal experience.

We're living in very interesting times, where wealth and influence can easily be invisible, and a lot of regular people have a lot to gain from that ambiguity. As time goes by, I can see people becoming less judgemental and more friendly with strangers, particularly those who don't look like older, conservative businessmen.

He's probably just a regular kid; but I still held the door open for him.
There's never been a better time to be a decent person because, now more than ever;
You have no idea who you're talking to.

Have a fantastic day

Sort:  

Hello mattclarke, we would like to inform you that you have been chosen as a featured author by the @robinhoodwhale initiave.

More about robin hood whale

Very True - Keep on Steeming!

Thanks heaps :) I'm not much of a self promoter, just quietly enjoying the platform and collecting followers.
I really appreciate this exposure :)

Love this! Especially "meatspace". Good point.

Thanks. It's a great word. Appreciate the support.

Well, i think we'd all benefit if we were nicer irregardless of whether someone can do something for us. Why not?
Hold that door opened :)

That may be pose an inconvenience to the others waiting for the tram to continue, but I agree with the sentiment :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.029
BTC 61265.70
ETH 3429.20
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50