Follower loyalty - A new metric for a new year.

in #steemit8 years ago (edited)

The real long term asset on this platform is followers.

When you choose to see everything I post, you're giving me the gift of your attention in the attention economy, and it's a gift I'm grateful for.

That gratitude has me carefully considering and labouring over each post. If you've trusted me with your time, the last thing I want to do is abuse that trust.

To keep track of how well I'm doing, I've been looking at how well I retain my followers.

As it stands, I've kept 99.03%
(I was almost 99.34% a week ago, but @imarealboy777 unfollowed me 3 days ago.)

Checking your follower loyalty percentage is very straightforward.

Head over to
steemdb.com/@yournamehere/followers
scroll down and count the total number of red 'unfollow's

Add that to your total number of current followers, to get the total number of people who have ever followed you.

I have 3 unfollows, and 307 current followers, so 310 people have at some point clicked my 'follow' button.
@kaylinart has 7 unfollow events, and 975 current followers, for a total of 982
@imarealboy777 has 28 unfollows, and 139 current followers, for a total of 167

Then you just divide your current followers by your total followers to get your follower loyalty percentage.

@kaylinart is running at 99.28%
@imarealboy777 is on 83.23%

If the guys who run steemwhales.com, steemd.com or steemdb.com were to pull that data directly from the blockchain, it would be a handy way to rank content producers based on how well they've respected the time and attention of their followers, and a great place to find new authors.

Can you beat the lovely @kaylinart?
Would you like to see @elyaque make some new follower loyalty percentage badges, like the cool ones below?
Share your loyalty percentage in the comments, and have a fantastic day.

Sort:  

Interesting post but don't like that you called out the person that unsupscribed

It's an indictment on me, not on him. He certainly has no obligation to keep following me, it's my job to keep him. Not his job to stay :)

I mean in is not nice to publish their name

It's publicly available information, I didn't betray anyone's trust.
https://steemdb.com/@mattclarke/followers
He hasn't done anything wrong, I'm not trying to shame him.

This is pretty cool. Resteemed.

Awesome post !! Best of luck to you your doing great ! 👍😊

I'll have to check this out. Thanks for the post

Technically, you're winning, with 100%. None of your 10 followers have left :)

Haha, yep it wont be long though

You're on 98.96%. You have 192 followers, after 2 left.

Oh so I've kept 98.96% of my followers? Interesting stat

I've followed you now, pushing you up over 99%.
Congratulations, :)

Thank you very much! Please accept 0.5 STEEM as appreciation!

So basically if i'll unfollow you I can't hide..that boy have been downvoting everything he laid his eyes on. aren't you lucky Matty? Success!

You'd never unfollow me, Imma. I'm too charming ;)

You could say that and more..don't push it though :)

You're on 97.35% follower retention btw :)

Thanks Matty..will work on upping it ;)

This is kind of a nifty metric. I've got 2 unfollows and 215 current followers, so that makes my loyalty percentage 99.08%.

Another good metric is how many dead (inactive) followers you have. This cool website will tell you: http://steemit.deadfollowers.info

But perhaps most important is how many followers consistently vote for you post after post. Your "core" following, so to speak. Do you know of any tools for measuring this?

Congrats on the high result. Just snuck in over the top of me. There is a tool for displaying your top 5 upvoters.
https://steempixel.com/shoutout/@cryptomancer

That's good to know about, thanks. Would be nice if it was more detailed though. I'd like to see a complete breakdown of all my followers, how many times each has voted for me, whether it's on my main posts or comments, etc.

If you find it, let me know.

This post has been ranked within the top 50 most undervalued posts in the first half of Jan 28. We estimate that this post is undervalued by $5.28 as compared to a scenario in which every voter had an equal say.

See the full rankings and details in The Daily Tribune: Jan 28 - Part I. You can also read about some of our methodology, data analysis and technical details in our initial post.

If you are the author and would prefer not to receive these comments, simply reply "Stop" to this comment.

Congratulations @mattclarke! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of comments

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honnor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

If you want to support the SteemitBoard project, your upvote for this notification is welcome!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 58972.92
ETH 2315.53
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50