You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: I Don't Want to be a Sellout and a Few Other Things I Find Somewhat Humorous About This Place

in #steemit6 years ago

I don't check the trending page anymore. At one time it was a war zone with flag wars and to me it became a place to avoid out of fear I'd become a target for no good reason. I've actually moved to finding new people to support through resteems in my feed of people I trust who are seeking to promote good quality content. Even if those who run the site aren't changing things at least individual users are out there trying to support the little guys and trying to give them a boost. The biggest shame of the design of trending, hot, new, etc is that people who deserve to be seen aren't and that for people who are new with no friends, they may struggle to find friends and get their work seen.

Sort:  

So, let's say, at the bottom of post published by a blogger you trust, you saw something like this:
Screenshot (398).png

Click that awesome banner, that serves as a vote for the post hosting the banner, and you move on to the next post that you might want to vote for, and there you're met with another interesting post you might be interested in, so you just follow the path, supporting everyone along the way.

We can already do this for free, without needing bidbots for added exposure. If someone slipped me a few bucks to purchase one my slots for a week, I'd do it that way, but if I lose potential votes due to distractions that lead away from my work, it's not a good idea. That's why I say the slot should come with the UI and serve as a vote once clicked. Easy ad revenue.

We can do it on our own but if promoters offer incentives, we can choose from their list of promoted posts. I certainly wouldn't want to place junk at the bottom of my post. I'd look for something my followers might be interested in, and that could be anything. Doesn't have to be a coca cola commercial. It might just be an interesting paid programming style post we sometimes but rarely see on trending.

Now, since the trending tab offers the real content creators the potential for added exposure, we could have the same interesting add pulled from the MARKET on several of the top trending posts, giving the one who promoted the post far more potential views than they had with one post hijacking the trending page that most folks don't look at anymore.

Simple stuff, right?

My problem with this is if the recommended post, even though quality, doesn't interest you, this system would have you going down to the bottom of the article/post to see the next recommended post which also may not interest someone, whereas going down trending/new you can just hit on the stuff you want to read without all that scrolling.

Most folks read top to bottom. Nobody is forcing anyone to click anything, it's just there. The rest of the world still exists outside of the post, as is.

That is most reassuring.

I know that. lol. What you were saying would just be another option available. One other thing to consider is the fact that a lot of the same topics will start streaming at the same time. So say A, B and C all write articles on say retention, and A recommends B and B recommends C, so you start to read B's then decide you don't want to read anymore retention similar stuff, so you scroll all the way down to see what B recommended only to find out that C also wrote on the same topic. That's a lot of scrolling, clicking and reading for nothing.

Arts, entertainment, lifestyle, edutainment, educational, informational, news, etc. Text, video, audio. Broaden your horizons, think bigger. Then you'll see how it works.

The typical forum style posts about Steemit (including mine above) aren't much of a draw for outside eyes or much fun for majority of those on the inside looking to pass some time, be entertained or informed; whatever they like.

Bloggers would have to curate ads or promotional posts and find something people might be interested in, because a click on that ad means a vote for them as well as potential rewards for hosting the ad or promotion. The better the promotion does, the more one could earn, so bloggers would have to be wise about their selection, not send people on an annoying loop from hell.

People have to scroll and click everywhere on the internet though. That's just how these devices work.

If you're promoting a blog that offers something unique, every post is different, and if someone doesn't like it, they can simply go to their feed like usual and find something else. Nobody is under any obligation to click a post or scroll, but if they want to, they can.

We can trust our social circles to offer something of value. I'll give shout outs to people from time to time, and some of my followers check out their work. I haven't had any complaints so far. If you hit the new button up there, then most likely, yeah, you'll eventually get tired of scrolling, clicking and reading for nothing, if that's what you chose to do that day.

That's brilliant. It's kind of like the "Recommended" tab on YouTube except that you actually benefit from helping others.

I'm right there with you. When I see long-time users complaining about the trending page, it throws me off a little. "What, you still look at that thing?"

For me, the front page of Steemit is my feed page. New people to follow is found by resteems from people I'm already following (don't neglect that resteem button when you see great content from people you want to support, folks!), or, occasionally, on tag pages. Heck, I still don't understand just what the difference between "Trending," "Hot," and "Promoted" are in terms of how the content appears on the respective pages…

Nonetheless, I can respect the opinion that, if we're going to have these "best of" pages, the content on them should be legitimately good.

If I'm working for a magazine, I don't want to work for the one with the shittiest cover.

Hopefully this post of mine doesn't come off sounding like complaining, because that wasn't the intention here at all.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 59274.49
ETH 2983.07
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.75