You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Misaligned incentives: How voting on GOOD content makes me LOSE curation rewards

in #steemit8 years ago

I really need to understand this better. How can it b that if I vote for some good posts it will diminish my future receiving? Well, I will learn.

Sort:  

Ok, so it probably won't for you. If you look here you'll see that my bot automatically votes on content. However, everyone is limited in the amount of times they can upvote per day. After each upvote, you lose some of your voting power. Your rewards are proportional to your voting power. So if you vote too much for no reason, you'll end up having no curation rewards.

Here, I'm arguing that no matter what I vote on, my bot will always be doing better than me at identifying what will end up being popular. By voting manually, I'm lowering my voting power, which will lower my potential rewards (due to my bot) in the long run.

Hope this clarifies it all. Thanks for the comment!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.12
JST 0.031
BTC 57019.68
ETH 2888.91
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.61