#DolphinSchool 13 Tips on Audience building, a backup image tool and more!

in #steemit8 years ago

Time for another edition of Dolphinschool!

enter image description here

Over the past week, I've taken in over $2000 in SBD and I am having the time of my life, so let me share a little on how!

I spent almost two decades teaching theater. Everything from directing to writing, to costuming to sets to producing. If there is a job in the theater, I've done it many times. So, what did I learn?

Here's a few things about getting an audience!

  • It's not hard to get an audience, any fool can do it. Don't believe me? Walk out in the middle of a crowd and start looking up intently, people will join you!
  • It's not that hard to maintain their attention! Once you have it, all you have to do is keep them interested and not offend them.
  • It is nearly impossible to get them back once they are lost. You will be starting from scratch, and likely won't get the same audience you had before.

So, what does that have to do with Steemit?

Quality posts, written on topics of interest, or well written fiction, will gain readers here. In every case, if you find a steemer getting paid out on the majority of their posts, the content is good. If they are not, here is some what you may find.

  • Short, skimpy posts, with little content at all
  • Poorly and hastily written pieces. sometimes the writer writes as if their first language is not English. (nothing wrong with that, but it won't get as many readers)
  • Pandering posts that ask for upvotes, or insist they deserve to be paid.

Here's a few things I've noticed.

The steemers who are getting consistently large payouts have a few things in common.

  • They share image rich posts, in almost every case. Typically 3 to 5 images per entry.
  • They have large followings, many over 400.
  • They post every day, typically twice to three times.

So, if you'd like to experience the same results, you're going to need to up your game.

  • Post every day, at least 700 words per post, at least once.
  • Use images, create your own if you can.
  • Comment and upvote, don't worry about the stupid 5 vote thing, hasn't started yet anyway and even once it does, that's only votes at 100%, not all votes. Go for it!

Be sure you respond to each and every reply on your work, and in your comments on other's work. Conversation is the key!

Here's a new tool!

Early this week, Imgsafe.org was down for at least parts of two days. So, I started looking for alternatives. Here's the best one I've found.

http://funkyimg.com/

Starting to conceptualize on an audience participation series!

You can help me out here by voting for your favorite concept in the comments section.

  1. A choose your own adventure type story, only a bit more in depth. At the end of each episode, I would offer several choices up for a vote, then write the most popular option.
  2. A Write a Paragraph About This challenge. I would select one or two images to set a mood, or theme, write a page of story involving them, and then invite you, the readers, to add your own version.
  3. A writing contest where I hand out writing prompts, you choose one, write a post and publish it, with a common hashtag (for example, #steemitprompt) and the entry that gets the most upvotes, linked to the original post, wins a prize.
  4. I post a flash fiction piece and call for illustrations to be added in the comments. They could be anything that makes sense, from photoshopped images to hand drawn. The comment image with the most upvotes, shares in the payout.

**Okay, just mention the number of the idea you like best and I'll keep that in mind when I make my selection. **

Naysayers and mathemeticians

There are a lot of people on the platform going all doom and gloom, because some people get good payouts consistently, while they don't. They seem to think that big payouts are over and that fewer posts are making money. I wonder how they even measure that?

  • As long as someone is getting a bigger payout than me, I know there's room for improvement.
  • Don't be silly, build an audience from here and give them something else to read as well.
  • Remember this, pessimism is just as naive as being overly optimistic, but it's a lot more limiting!

That's it for tonight, steemers! Thanks for reading and I hope you'll all take the time to follow my blog and read some of my fiction. It's really fun stuff, if I say so myself, and I do!

Sort:  

Hello @markrmorrisjr, I just stopped by to let you know that I included this post in my favourite reads on my Steemit Ramble today. Glad I did, I realized I'd not upvoted when I was here the first time. Hope you get that #dolphinschool chat channel open soon. The post can be found here

@markrmorrisjr
upvoted
This Top Notch
Thanks
I feel Warm Fuzzies!!
Such A Heart Felt Advice

This post has been linked to from another place on Steem.

Learn more about linkback bot v0.4. Upvote if you want the bot to continue posting linkbacks for your posts. Flag if otherwise.

Built by @ontofractal

Thanks for this post - it's very helpful

An image sharing site I am really impressed with is https://www.steemimg.com it's potentially going to be a great photo sharing site like Viewbug or 500PX, as well as a Steemit image sharing site

Here's my account - https://www.steemimg.com/sift666

Thanks for the reply, I wonder how many of the others even read the post, since you are the first to answer that question! LOL thanks

thanks for that link @sift666. I don't see any information on the site about the licensing... are the photos public domain? only for use on Steemit? or what?

To be honest I don't even worry about copyright on the internet - but anything is better than Instagram, which signs over total control of your images to Facebook.

I figure anyone who can do a screenshot has an open season on every image posted on the internet, then I go and download a movie torrent and think copyright is an outdated concept in general. But on Steemit I like it that copied content is flagged.

Sometimes I'm putting my Steemit name or website URL on my own pics - that would take about 30 secs in Photoshop for someone to remove :)

I use steemimg.com, too. I upload images that are 850 pixels wide. I've read in other Steemit-help posts that slow-loading images can doom a post. That small size is not going to provide people with an image that they can do much with, commercially. I do put my moniker on some of them.

Straight followed @markrmorrisjr! These are great tips. I've been doing with steem what I should have been doing with fb and twitter and IG and flickr for years, actually using the social media to be social. It's a brilliant way to make social media work, use it the way it was intended to be used, hahaha. Great work, I look forward to reading more from you!

Thanks, and yes, I agree. I was fortunate to start a social media company in the early days of Facebook, before 500 million, so I learned a ton about it. I may be sharing a book I wrote on the topic of networking soon, and retooling it a bit to fit the Steemit environment. Good luck out there!

Awesome, I look forward to reading it if you post it! Thanks so much and good luck to you as well, though I don't think you'll need the luck so much, you seem to have a pretty good handle on this stuff ;)

Audience participation - #1 appeals most to me, as I'm a keen fiction reader, but not a fiction writer or illustrator.

I love this, I feel like I can relate. Most of my success has been from having lots of followers, and writing quality content each day.

Yep, keep it up! As the audience here grows, there is nowhere to go but up!

Hey @markrmorrisjr , I tried to find you on Steemitchat , I could not. Can you make a channel called dolphin school. It would be a fun interactive channel where enthusiastic minnows like me can learn a thing or two . What do you think?

Yeah, I was looking at that. I'm on steemit.chat with my story posts. I don't know how to add a channel, though. Do you?

Hi, @markrmorrisjr! Thank you for your useful instructions. I have a question. Is your own post counted the same as your comment? As number of them raises no matter what is it exactly. I mean, sometimes I come to Steem in the morning and firstly comment some posts I like and write my own. But today, I have read that power is loosng with every next post. So should I write first to write my ownt and only then to comment? Thank you.

I don't know. I've not seen any decrease in my payouts on days when I comment, in fact, just the opposite. The more I comment, the more followers I gain and my payouts increase with followers. You should probably read the FAQ, found here. https://steemit.com/steemit/@shenanigator/official-steemit-faq-rough-draft-your-edits-are-neededLots of great information.

Thank you! )

Upps...The link doesn't open

Yeah, copy it again and leave the "lots" off at the end, oops! LOL

Thaks, now it's OK, i didn't pay attention to that)))

I agree with you! Great to share :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 65316.48
ETH 2593.30
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.65