3D printing: Helping the other Steemians!

in #steemit6 years ago (edited)

After I posted my priviest article, 3D printing: Burning iron, @heinze4 gave me a challenge and I decided to accept it. The challenge was to print a new cover to the door phone case to hide an old one. In my mind, I had a plan how to proceed right after @heinze4 gave me the dimensions.

The plan was to print a thin shell around the old one. I had to divide the cover into two separate parts because Ultimaker2+ was a little bit too small for that. Only thing what worried me was the joint between the parts because it might be too visible after installation. My plan was also to grind and paint the printed parts. Based on my experience, I know that the printed surface that is against the build plate is shinier than the rest of the part. Grinding and painting also balance the colour between the cover and the phone.

I designed the middle area of the cover to be hollow to ensure enough space for electric wires. Because the cover is built in two separate parts, @heinze4 doesn’t have to remove the wires back and forth when installing the new cover.

Enjoy the workflow!

ProE.PNG
Picture 1. Designing the cover.

cura.PNG
Picture 2. The geometry downloaded into Cura and some printing parameters.

20180216_150032.jpg
Picture 3. Printing the parts.

grinding (Medium).PNG
Picture 4. Grinding the surface.

20180216_152245.jpg
Picture 5. Painting the parts.

vs.PNG
Picture 6. The old cover VS the new one.

The challenge was good for me in two ways. First, the job was relatively short and it required only a couple of meters of a filament and I had one leftover spool to cover that job. So, I was able to get rid of that spool. Second, this challenge was actually the first time for me to paint printed parts. However, the result was pretty good as you can see in picture 6.

-markos86

Sort:  

Thanks again for your help! The new cover is perfect.

Nice. I'm sure @heinze4 was happy. It looks as good as new !

Have you participated in any Design competitions over on MyMiniFactory ? I thought it might interest you as they've begun making regular competitions to create spare parts for common appliances.

I won my first 3d printer in one of their competitions :)

Also, come on over and visit @Steemmakers on our discord channel when you have time !
We're a group that aims to support Makers that share their content and try to teach others here on the Steemit platform ☺

I have never heard about MyMiniFactory, it sounds interesting! Thanks for your tip and the invitation to visit @steemmakers. I definitely will check it out.

Myminifactory is awesome :)
It's technically a "competitor" to thingiverse in terms of 3d model storage, but their Wonderland community and vow to show only printable models on their site (the wonderland community takes care of test printing a model if the creator doesn't have a printer) makes it one of the best sites :)

A lot of people upload their models on both sites anyway for maximum exposure.

See you around ☺

This is beautiful, the new cover you made looks obviously better off than the old cover. So surprise you made this.
You have won the challenge definitely😀

What software did you use for the 3d design ?

These 3d skills of yours are very useful! :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63750.99
ETH 3130.22
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.95