You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: I am Busy

in #steemit6 years ago (edited)
I’ve been keeping, and will keep, Steemit a secret from most people in my life, at least for now. Even though my profile is technically accessible for everyone, I prefer to keep it on the down low from the people I know in real life. And no, I am not ashamed to show my nude pictures, everyone already knows I like to be half naked. I feel like I can be more real, open and honest in here, if I know that only my internet friends will see it. Thought I have been loving getting to know people through Steemit and meeting them in real life too. Its easier to find likeminded people in here, than it is in real life.

I've been trying to get some people I know interested in Steem but to no avail. It seems I couldn't market myself out of a paper bag. Several people evidently love wasting time on Facebook and the like instead of being paid for doing the same thing here. It has been an eye opening experience. Old things, however bad, seem to have a grip of steel on the typical person.

All that is no skin off my nose. With the proliferation of applications that use Steem (the blockchain) as a data layer, the value of STEEM is bound to keep creeping up. Anyone with a few thousand SP now will end up with a nice nest egg a few years down the road and those with an established following brought about by posting regularly will have a nice stream of income from Steem. If someone had told me a few years ago, that I could be earning a four figure sum of USD worth of cryptocurrency per month by blogging about whatever I please, I would've brushed it off as a bad joke.

Sort:  

I think one of the reasons it’s hard to get people to join is that this all seems like a pyramid scheme and how media paints anything crypto related almost criminal.

I’m higly sceptic about the future of steemit, but of course I hope it keeps thriving and steem price to moon and all that.

The pyramid scheme argument is incredibly stupid as one does not require any monetary investment at all to start blogging here. For one guy in particular at the Lahti go club it seems to be a sticking point that he cannot process the source of fiat value of STEEM as anything but an investment bubble. In actuality, it rests on the ability of Steem to attract a large mass of users whose attention would be worth a great deal to promoters and advertisers. Of course, STEEM benefits greatly from the general crypto mania at present. One great thing about Steem is that it is also a very high throughput payment system that has also been battle tested for about two years now. It is of genuine use of countries like Venezuela where fiat money is broken. Many of my Venezuelan users use Steempays to pay for everyday items.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 71443.06
ETH 3660.17
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.73