The interesting side effects of powering up that I hadn't really considered. A minnow's perspective.

in #steemit7 years ago (edited)

I powered up a couple of days ago. At the time I didn't know why I was doing it, really, but I took a couple of ETH, purchased STEEM and powered up.


Recent image of me Source

I did it, i guess, because I am fairly new minnow here and I was sick of my upvote counting for a cent or two.
I wouldn't care usually - we all give away facebook and instagram likes for free, so why is this an issue?

I wanted my vote to give a bigger reward because I'm a discerning voter and when I upvote something it's because I feel it shows talent or enhances the experience of the Steemit community.

Now that I've powered up my vote counts for 11 cents. That 11 cents is donated to a worthy cause every time I click that little up arrow.

Source

I get it now.
I am addicted.
I want to have a bigger impact and I want my discerning vote to reward more great content creators.
And powering up locks away that STEEM, creating more stability for the platform.
I'll probably power up more soon.
It felt good.

Sort:  

Yeap! and it'll be beneficial in long term aswell!

I believe it will :)

This comment has received a 0.55 % upvote from @booster thanks to: @shehryar, @shehryar.

welcome to my world haha I have the exact same feeling. I was kind of sorry to see my voting power drop from $ 0.29 back to $ 0.11 due to the market downtrend :( .... hope it'll recover so my upvotes will have more weight again.
Here, have an $ 0.11 sent upvote ;)

Haha thank you @eqko. The market will pick back up, I'm not worried about that. Then we can make it rain again :D

I'm not worried either. I'm holding the line. Looking forward to downpours of biblical proportions 😊

lol, my upvote counted for 1 cent. I'm sure the platform will get better as time goes by

I appreciate your upvote no matter what its value :) Thank you @niallsemple :)

hopefully more value will come from this platform asap

Hey Mark,

My story is pretty much exactly the same. I've also just powered up to around the same level as you and it feels good.

What I have found though, is I'm being a little bit more selective with my upvote. It's pretty stupid considering it's still only 10 cents or so difference, but my brain automatically takes more to give it away.

I agree! If I dropped 10 cents on the ground I don't know if I'd bother to pick it up, but here it means more.
I think it's important that we be selective. The fact that we get to choose what content is rewarded is what makes this (in my opinion) the best social media platform! I upvoted you, but it seems my powers are decreasing. steemd tells me I'm down to 75% voting power. I'd better start conserving it :)

Well done! I think i have to do the same thing as for the moment my upvote is just 2 cents and sometimes i do see so good blogs or great comments that i really want to reward with more!

If you have some spare investment money to lock away for a while, yeah, do it! It's very rewarding :)

I have the opposite.
I'm away on holiday and spending most of my time with the wife and kids, so I've delegated my voting power to a minnow friend for a week.
I've lost my slider bar and I feel a bit like a ghost. I'm wandering around, just lightly moving things occasionally.

Haha it's like you're undercover. You can experience life as one of us for a little while :)
The slider is another thing! I had read people talking about it and had no idea what they were on about. Now I get a slider! Small things amuse small minds :)
Enjoy your holiday, Matt!

Nice dude. Well done :D

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by Mark from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, and someguy123. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows and creating a social network. Please find us in the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you like what we're doing please upvote this comment so we can continue to build the community account that's supporting all members.

Yeah it's funny how that works. When HF 19 hit and my upvote went from 32 cents to $7 USD it was a little mind blowing. My vote has now pulled back to something like $1 USD. ... That I think STEEM is a long-term up up up kind of deal really makes us ponder. $10 STEEM if it happens is a $10 USD upvote. 5 years from now? Who knows.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 63857.77
ETH 3117.63
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.87