Power up your Steem Account with 120 SBD for $100

in #steemit8 years ago (edited)

 Coinbase has an offer "Invite a friend who buys $100 of bitcoin or more, and you'll both earn $10 of free bitcoin."

If you use my referral code, I will transfer you the 10 SBD that I buy with the $10 of bitcoin that I get when you buy $100 worth of bitcoin -- as long as you use your $110 worth to power up and then up-vote this post.

My assumption is that this post is going to become more valuable than all of the 10 SBDs that I'm giving away (not to mention the facts that I'm growing the community and getting my name out there).

All you need to do to get $110 worth of bitcoin for $100 is to use this referral URL when signing up with Coinbase:

All you need to do to get the additional 10 SBD is:

  1. Up-vote this post now!
  2. Use my referral code to sign up with Coinbase
  3. Buy $100 worth of bitcoin or more
  4. Power up with at least $110 worth of STEEM
  5. Up-vote the redemption post (link to follow shortly)
  6. Comment on this post telling me that you have done steps 1-4

I'm thinking that this should be a major win for everybody . . . .

If there is a similar deal elsewhere, please let me know in the comments below and I will make a comparable offer (and I will reward the person who first points it out to me).  It would be awesome if the Steemit community could keep collecting what is essentially free money.

Note:  I am one of the founders of the Digital Wisdom group.  We are trying to start a Safe/Ethical Artificial Intelligence community (keyword ethical-AI) on Steemit with the intent to crowd-source a strong artificial intelligence on the Steemit platform.

Sort:  

Flagged as an attempt to manipulate voting and rewards by buying upvotes.

Were it not for that it would be referral marketing which can easily flood the site with spam (imagine if everyone with a referral code for every site did it), although that hasn't specifically become a problem yet.

Thank you for having the decency to comment with your flag. May I debate the subject with you?

Yes, it is referral marketing. On the other hand, it is 100% honest in what is offered and it is absolutely guaranteed to grow the community. Are you not throwing the baby out with the bathwater?

I do understand your concern about spam but posts of this type after this first one will quickly disappear since the only thing that I hoped/expected to capitalize on was first-mover advantage.

Manipulate voting is an inflammatory term. Indeed, the term upvotes is problematical because it inspires incorrect comparisons with voting for political office where vote-buying is a huge problem. In this case, what I am buying is attention -- and hoping to use that attention in a pro-community (as well as pro-self) manner.

I hope that you would see fit to remove your flag based upon this reply and the argument expressed in https://steemit.com/steemit/@august-newbie/flag-abuse-or-how-to-kill-the-steemit-community

Thanks! Mark

I have commented there and indicated that I am open to restoring the reputation. However, I and most if not all major stakeholders consider buying votes to be abuse and will downvote it when I see it. I am firm on that position.

Referral marketing is a less serious concern. As I said it hasn't become a major problem yet; if it does then community consensus may become hostile to it. As of yet that has not happened.

I used a couple of your comments here to restore rep.

Thank you very much for restoring (improving, actually) my reputation.

I think that buying attention is not the same as buying votes but am more than willing to concede that it is I who may be wrong rather than you. In any case, I will never convince everyone of the point and am very aware that any additional vote-buying is suicidal and stupid (and I try not to do stupid things ;-)

Could you please perform the same reputation repair on august-newbie if you haven't already? She will be editing her post to remove the (perceived ;-) vote-buying.

I appreciate all that you're doing for the community! Live long and prosper (and know that I'm now following you and willing to help with reputation repair as needed)!

Could you please perform the same reputation repair on august-newbie if you haven't already?

Both accounts have been restored to positive rep status

Smooth, you'r smooth. This is one of the better stories of Steemit. It has been fun to read it for myself.

As an interesting thought experiment . . . . Would you have flagged this post if it had pointed out, for the good of the community, that two friends could get $240 worth of bitcoin for $200?

Or the question that Mark wants asked (since his excellent replies in his defense are hidden unless you Show the comments that are hidden due to low ratings) . . . .

What editing is necessary to get the flags removed so that he isn't exiled from the community forever? (An extremely harsh punishment for an unwitting and arguably questionable offense).

I just realized that we made a huge oversight when planning this yesterday. By requiring people to up-vote this post after powering up, we are discouraging them from up-voting it immediately.

Good point. I've edited the instructions so that there will be a redemption post instead.

Somewhat unfortunate since this now splits any rewards from powered-up newbies from an rewards that a whale might give on this post for trying to grow the community . . . .

Sorry but fuck coinbase.

Thanks for the post!!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 63869.25
ETH 3055.04
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.88