What should I do so people would actually open my content?

in #steemit6 years ago (edited)



I'm struggling for months now on Steemit, thinking what exactly went wrong? I'm here for a year and half.
I have more than 1300 followers and reputation score 70. I put original content and really try here everyday,
but for months now nobody really cares, I don't get 10 upvotes anymore, not to talk about not earning anything, but nobody even opens my posts, and 80% of comments are ''nice, pls follow back''.
7 months ago, I was getting more than 100 upvotes, and actually good comments, but something changed.
What is it? My content stayed the same, but that was not good enough anymore? And I'm not posting just my photographs. I'm translating interesting art content, movie reviews, stories about shooting music videos...
I try to put quality content here really.

I'm thankful for this platform because it changed my life in so many ways. First I got money to pay my rent when I moved away from my parents house, and it meant a lot, because I'm a film director and a photographer, so I don't earn a lot of money.

Second, it moved me away from facebook, I don't scroll anymore and really don't hang around there.
I wake up, make my coffee and instantly when I turn on my computer I write a post.

And third, I'm learning a lot, because when I decide to write a post, I don't just do it to write anything, if I don't have any original content for the day, I search for interesting articles in my language and translate it so people here could read it.

But now I'm really struggling whether I should keep this pace of everyday posting, because it doesn't get any attention, and I'm not sure why. I don't want to suck up to whales and comment on things I don't sincerely like just to get an upvote.
All in all, I don't now what the fuck should I do?

I don't know if there is anyone here that is experiencing the same?

Love ya all, and happy Valentine's Day
<3

Sort:  

I know what you should do!
Upvote me, and follow back!

I feel Steemit tends to work in waves - just like real life - sometimes you catch a high wave and sometimes you're on a low but right at the moment that you start wondering if you will ever get picked up again, the wave starts rising again.

I would advise you to keep doing what you're doing. I feel you're definitely adding unique value to this platform.

I also agree with @namiks that writing/ posting less - every now and then - might actually help (making you noticed more). Says I, who just started posting more.

Who knows, perhaps taking some days off and start afresh will do the trick.

But who am I to tell you this, you spent a year more on here.

Keep up the good work and keep your head up!

Cheers,

Vincent

P.S. Do you ever hang out on Discord?

@vincentnijman
I got hooked on Steemit to be fair! :)
My everyday begins with steemit, it's hard for me not to post everyday, I know that sounds silly, but I think now when you got use to post more, that you could understand that. It's like poker, I have two bad days, and I don't think, chill, drop it for a day or two, no I think ok the third day will be THE DAY.
It's a circle :D

I don't hang on Discord, but I was thinking lately to join in! After this, maybe I will these days, sure will let you know! :)

I know what you mean. I'm on Steemit and Discord whenever I can. I'm a full time Steemian.

I'm hooked myself and I don't like addictions but it is probably the best one that I've ever experienced. There are lots of ups and downs though but that's part of the game.

Discord is addictive too but it certainly helps to build relationships. Makes you feel way less isolated. It even led to me being where I am right now, in Berlin :>)

Hope to chat with you there one of these days!

Hello, I'm Oatmeal Joey, and yeah, there seems to be waves on Steem and it has happened for me as well at times. I'm usually on the low end of the waves.


I know what you mean. A lot of upvotes are bots and people are incentiviced to vote for things, because they will get a part of it. I am only making crumbs with my posts, but that is more than I earned on Instagram with my photos!
I now use steemfollower, which is like and upvote trading place, which works well because 2 people I follow (@Captainklaus and @Valorforfreedom) are there aswell, when I upvote them through steemfollower, I get points to get votes!
I put about 1500 SP I bought with Ethereum, which I now delegated to @Jerrybanfield, for which I get about 1 SBD daily. This works better than curating myself( best I got was about 0.75 SBD daily, taking hours).
I did plan to do this but, I had to adapt.

TL;DR:
You have adapt and change as steemit develops, technically it is still in beta! Keep the faith and Steem on!

I'm keep telling myself this, it's still beta, you need to stick around, things will turn around again!
Thank you for kind words, and glad you commented, I just checked your profile, you have some nice shots!
Followed you! Hope we will stay in touch!

Thanks. It helps to "shop" around for opportunities. Looking forward to your future posts.

you have a new follower now. i also follow both of those guys but have not used steemfollower yet

Keep striving! I'm new here, so... reading this actually gave me a few ideas I'll be using on my blog, thank you!

@dani-tips
Thank you, means a lot! :)

the simplest answer is 'do nothing' :P
this is even more difficult ....
jokes a part, but to me, on steemit people don't read much. they just come here to get upvotes .

This is reality

@robber7
yeah I know, right? :D
And I had a belief that this decentralized platform could actually be a threat to Facebook, Twitter and such,
but people are just here for the money and nothing else, it's like content don't matter.

Attractive and "in the moment" Titles or to put this another way try discussing something that is in the news currently. Other methods may involve discussing famous people or events. All of these gain a lot more attention than posts about personal ideals or interests. This is the same on most media.

@lifespring
I guess your right, but I thought by now there will be a strong community behind every kind of content
art, politics, philosophy, news...
But as more time passes it seemed it's just getting weaker

started following you. i truly believe it is people clicking on hot or trending then throwing a vote on the high paying ones wanting a payout. occasionally you get an anomoly where it is actually good content. once i get some more money in my account i will give the bots a try and see what happens. actually that is a very good analogy . i am gooing to use a new kind of bait to catch more fish. because in reality that is what we are doing here, fishing for upvotes and resteems.

@doomsdaychassis
Yeah when you put it harsh, it's like that! But I'm trying hard not to think it's JUST THAT, that this is community of the future and a platform where you can actually learn and see new interesting things. :)

i think i am looking at my account wrong. i am trying to put out good content but instead i need to gear it up to being a salesman also.

Even though I'm new here, and I'm not the best person to give advice, one thing popped into my mind. Are you actively commenting on other people's post, and not only providing your own content? I think both of those things are equally important, since there's a huge sense of community here on Steemit!
Happy Valentine's Day to you too! 😊

@jasmink
Actually I was thinking about that lately! I think I'm not commenting maybe enough on other peoples post because I'm concentrating on my so much, and it takes a lot of time in the day, but for the last month I'm correcting that mistake, and I feel better about that!

senior spirit. hopefully senior in the future better

Hey @marinauzelac. I've been following you and, even though I'm new, have been enjoying your work so far. Keep it up please ;)

On the flip side I have noticed a similar thing even since back in December when I joined. It seems like most articles are not getting as much (apart from the whales) and a lot of those users who came in on the buzz are just inactive or something. It's a shame.

I guess there are people here who do create interesting content but I understand your position as I've been thinking about it a lot myself recently. I'm not sure which way to go with it myself but hope I can hang in for the long run.

Maybe if we all support each other then we can build each other up. I'm not sure lol 🤔

@oen
I guess we should find more people and built a small community and maintain it. I'm betting the long run will pay off, even if it doesn't feel that way for some time now.
Btw, I see you travel a lot, nice posts! Followed you!

Thanks a lot. I have a travelled quite a bit haha Glad you are following :) Sometimes it's hard to tell if people enjoy the posts of not lol!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 58664.80
ETH 2569.75
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.42