You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: 🏆 [CONTEST] What Did You Learn About SteemIt This Week? (+ Steem-Bounty)

in #steemit5 years ago

This week, or maybe it was last week - time flies when you are having fun on Steemit - I learned that Dtube Snapes are a thing.

When DTube first hit the blockchain, I was all about utilizing this new platform but got very quickly discouraged. Posts took forever to upload and more than half of the time, didn't even make it to the publishing phase.

It was frustrating!!

Then I found out that the videos only stay up for a short time before they are deleted forever.

I gave up!

Then Dtube snaps entered the scene. The idea is to make a short 1-minute video and post daily. Post right from your phone. Well, that doesn't work for me. With an iPhone, things are a bit more complicated.

I airdrop the video from the phone to my laptop. Import it into iMovie, add a thumbnail I do in canva and upload it to YouTube. Then, I download it from Youtube to a mp4 file - upload it to DTube, add text and the same thumbnail I made for the video and we are in business.

This takes much longer than a minute but the mp4 from Youtube is loading like a charm to DTube. If I save it to a file from iMovie the format is different and it doesn't work so well.

Right now, I am publishing a Laughter Yoga exercise several times a week. Come and join me in some laughter :)

Sort:  

You've answered the 'what' and the 'why'-questions, but for a valid entry, I also need the 'How' question answered.

In my case, that answer would be: @mariannewest told me about it in a comment, lol.
I had the same experience with DTube in the past, so I left and never looked back. I had never even heard about DTube snaps. Sounds like an interesting concept.

Only that in your case, it seems like a whole lot of hoops to jump through before you can upload your video.

Thanks, I have learned another thing about SteemIt today! (That's why I hold these contests, you know. From every edition, I've learned a bunch of new stuff myself, lol)

I thought I did answer the how question -

I airdrop the video from the phone to my laptop. Import it into iMovie, add a thumbnail I do in canva and upload it to YouTube. Then, I download it from Youtube to a mp4 file - upload it to DTube, add text and the same thumbnail I made for the video and we are in business.

If you want to know how I learned about it - by seeing other freewriters publish Dtube snaps and giving the same disclaimer in their posts as I do - @nathanmars got the initiative started to get more people to use and engage on Dtube.

That last part was indeed what I was looking for :0)
I upped your vote.

Posted using Partiko Android

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64093.86
ETH 3123.80
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.94