Steemit Account HACKED!steemCreated with Sketch.

in #steemit7 years ago

Hacked.png

As usual I opened my browser, automatically logged into Steemit and went to the wallet page. I saw the following message from @keyhunter.

Hacked-Keyhunter.png

My account password has “leaked”! How can that be? I guess it was a polite way of saying my account was hacked. I didn’t believe it because I was able to login and view the message. Was this a hoax message?

Then I opened my email and I received an email message from Streemian.com. I use their services for curation purposes.

Hacked-Streemian.png

The message I was received was not a hoax and it seem that my login password was somehow compromised. I quickly started the “Recover Account” process in the password page.

Hacked-Recover.png

Once done all I could do was to wait for a response from Steemit Inc. I got the response a day later.

Hacked-SteemitEmail.png

I recovered my account instead of just changing the password because I was not sure what may happen and it was also to let Steemit Inc. know that my account was “hacked”.

When I received the email from Steemit Inc. I proceeded to recover my account using the link provided which was the process of changing my password. Once this was done then all was good. Nothing was taken from my wallet as I do not have that much anyway so why was I targeted?

Then I saw a message from @craig-grant posted on @yuliana informing that he had been “hacked”, see the message here. So I am not the only one and it would appear that something maybe going down.

@craig-grant could not gain access to his account unlike me. This highlight a possible flaw in the way "hacked' accounts are recovered. To recover your account you need to access your account, but if the account has been locked then you are stuck on the outside.

Some sort of procedure should be in place to enable a the account holder to gain access to the account in order to recover the account from the outside.

I would suggest a system like Streemian.com, in which Steemit Inc. inform the account holder of a possible hack and provide email link by email to recover the account instead of having to recover the account in the password page when we cannot even access the account.

STEEMIT INC.png

What additional precaution can I take to ensure this does not happen again? Comments as you see fit below.


I’m just letting off Steem, if you found this post informative then UPVOTE (with FULL POWER), COMMENT, FOLLOW and especially RESTEEM.

Live Long and Prosper


I wrote this article myself and it expresses my own opinions. Computer literacy is crucial in this day and age. Just because someone tells you it is good does not mean that it is good for you.

Sort:  

So just to clarify for my own stupidity, if I were to be locked out of my account due to hacking then there's currently no way to gain access again? I don't have much to steal, actually I don't have anything to steal, so it's more a matter of interest...

I'm not sure how you can get access again except possibly through steemchat and asking for help. @craig-grant in his video message stated so but no-one believed him. So I am not sure how you can get access again excapt to maybe send an email to steemit inc. I was somehow lucky enough to be able to access my account to "recover account".

Time for 2fa
I came across a hacked account yesterday that was posting phishing blog post to steal other user names and login keys. This is very troubling.
I think 2fa cound be a quick solution.
https://steemit.com/steemit/@libertyranger/warning-warning-scammer-steemit-site-located

Thanks my friend. Resteeming for others!!

Thanks @thethreehugs, we all have to keep other informed!

You are most welcome my friend!

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by marcusxman from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews/crimsonclad, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows and creating a social network. Please find us in the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

Congratulations @marcusxman! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

That's scary.
I love the Powerdown feature of Steem that allows a gap of 7 days if a hacker gets the password.

That is indeed one of the redeeming feature of Steem so your funds cannot be stolen right away! But you still need a way to get access to Steemit in order to recover your account.

Yes, that's an excellent point.
I still don't know where to ask a technical query.

I know you can leave questions on Github but apart from that I have no idea as well!

Thank you! I will check Github.

This post has received a 3.13 % upvote from @drotto thanks to: @banjo.

I am reading way too many posts warning about hackers in the last few days. Not good that this seems to be happening all over the place right now.

It seem to be the start of something and hopefully Steemit Inc. can see it too to nip it in the bud now before it all get out of control. This would only give Steemit a bad name and all associated platforms linked to the Steemit account!

Upvoted resteemed and followed thanks for sharing...

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.033
BTC 62772.18
ETH 3032.07
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.67