FREE STEEM with Steemit and its library Piston...

in #steemit8 years ago (edited)

What Happened?

So my friend @streak and I were playing with Piston (a library to use Steemit by command line) trying to figure it out to write scripts and tools for Steemit.

During this process, we wanted to start by posting zerohedge's RSS feed onto steemit, then give the account to zerohedge (hopefully with a reward from them) when it was finished and fully tested. However, for some reason some of the community eventually didn't like this approach and started flagging our posts. However, at first people seems to like this with comments about fixing some coding issues that caused it to have errors because they were happy to see zerohedge posts on the site (while aware that we were copying it).

We thought approaching zerohedge with a system would entice them more than just trying to get them to join. But, we have since changed our approach due to the backlash. People seem to prefer that we simply quote the articles. Not sure if other bloggers would move here considering just quotes probably don't get much upvotes.

The Bug we might have Found...

However, in the process we tried to create an account using the piston library. This account was called @zerohedge, however, the piston library gave us an error. We tried a few more times, each with an error, and so we moved onto other things for the time. Our wallet still filled up with private keys, however.

As you can see in the account, the zerohedge wallet filled with STEEM. *edit*Unfortunately, I don't know if the account existed before (I was new to steem) and the logs I saved doesn't have a time stamp... the file was not saved either... just left open for a long time. So I don't actually know when I did this, I just know it was a long time ago.*Edit*

Not sure who to talk to about this... Will mention it in my email to steemit.

The Next Step...

We have moved onto developing other tools for the steemit community and hopefully the community will be happier with our efforts then trying to get zerohedge to join.

We have decided not to touch the steem in that account and will contact @dan and @ned and ask them to offer it to zerohedge with our uncompleted tool (I guess no reward for us). I doubt they want to do extra work and they also like to be very anonymous. We will give them the tool we have so far, if @dan or @ned get a response from zerohedge.

If we get a lot of love on this post we might open source the RSS feed tool that we developed and hope others can use it to convince other mainstream bloggers to join. But be prepared for downvotes, as we have learned.

We only want to improve the community and we are disappointed that our attempt at making this got met with backlash.

We both see the value and potential in Steem and would like to thank this community and ask it, how can we serve? We are not here to take advantage of Steem, only help it grow to be fully realized.

We have a feeling our next tool will be met with love and appreciation. No need to look for it, you will see its impact.

All the best to the Steemit community,

-Marc and @streak

Sort:  
Loading...

Hi Marc and streak (the bot), we were actively fighting the posts (steemitabuse channel) due to issues we might have in the future with DMCAs and plagiarism in general (with google slapping the Steemit domain or subset of pages).

I'm personally very glad you actually posted about it and would love you to join slack so we can make Steem more valuable as you clearly have the skills for better tools.

I was trying to get on slack, but the "join our slack" link leads to a page that says "Application Offline for Maintenance". Is there another way there?

The RSS does say it's for syndication to other sites. So we didn't see a problem with "syndicating" it. We aren't interested in anything but improving this community.

Also, I have sent an email to info at zerohedge dot com, stating that we can profit from steemit, and if they mind that we use their rss in this way. So far, no reply. :/

Hi, Just to note, I'm not actually a bot lol. I am a living breathing "ugly bag of mostly water" here. Maybe I need to do an introducing myself post :)

The Steem is coming from a faucet or one of your accounts

I created it using this account (marcgodard) so I assume that is the faucet? Where can I confirm this?

I would like to get your opinion on this. https://steemit.com/steem/@acidsun/banners-for-steemit-community
Thank you!

Here is to you hopefully being able to open source your knowledge. Think about what open source tech you have relied on to build your current closed sourced tech.

I am well aware, and have a lot of open source tools that I have designed and created on my github. The problem is that people might not want it opened sourced because it might cause the same issues we are talking about. We were trying to build it to help the community but still people attacked us for it. Flagging all our posts as we developed the tool and used it.

Also, a small note: We were 100% transparent in this, and didn't try to deceive anyone.

Here's hoping everyone likes our tools :D

Likely the error you were getting is because @zerohedge was created 2016-04-24T05:03:09. Your op was likely failing because you cannot create an account with the same name.

As far as your claim that you were actively adding free STEEM to the account with each attempted account creation, I am skeptical and would like to see more proof of this.

I don't actually know if I was. I haven't actually investigated it that much yet. I just remember reading something about creating accounts using the library requires you to give it another account (which I did, this one). And it would fund the account. However, I can't see mention of this account on information at steemd for zerohedge. I am still investigating and trying to figure out the details.

Do you know how I can confirm if I was the one that created it or not? I should have check if it existed beforehand. However, I did this long before I knew anything about steem and was really just playing around. The error I got wasn't informative.

Also, I can no longer find the email address to reach them. Was it simply [email protected]? Anyone know it?

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.32
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66384.36
ETH 3272.25
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.27