You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: META Steemit: writing English posts as a non-native English speaker

in #steemit6 years ago

Your English is great :) I admire people who learn the language just from school and tv shows. I'm not sure I would have been able to do it!

English is my first language although the definition of 'native' and the credibility that a native speaker holds in terms of writing/speaking better than a 'non-native' is something debatable.

I, unfortunaltely, write only in English. I could write in French but my spoken French is too urban for it to translate into a well written post.

Sort:  

Ahhh, THANKS! You're lucky English is your first language, it's so widely spoken, very very useful! I'm doing okay but always need a bit of a 'transition period' when speaking English, after a half hour I'm getting more comfortable with it :')

And yes, not all 'natives' are perfect writers in English, I notice that too! Would be interesting to hear you speak urban French, I can understand a bit of French when spoken slow enough, but once it's faster or 'urban' I might lose all understanding :-)

Yes, I understand that transition period very well! Whenever I visit or move back to the North of India, I have to remember my Hindi and at first it takes a while.

My french is a 'jeune francais' - wrong, full of slang and spoken too fast :P It took me a LONG time to understand it and I would constantly complain about the slang but once you pick it up, it's impossible to not use it!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63578.68
ETH 3314.57
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.94