Is Syndicating to Steemit Safe for SEO?

in #steemit7 years ago (edited)

Google.png

I have been using Steempress and it does a great job!

If you already blog using WordPress then I do advise you to check it out.

Syndication

When the article is relevant I syndicate my posts to my Steemit blog, so some are syndicated, some are written just for Steemit like this one.

Problem!

view-source_https___steemit.com_making_@makerhacks_formlabsform2firstlook-p1eo2tj0g9-1.png

The problem is, as you can see in the photo above, the Canonical tag shows Steemit, not my WordPress blog, as the original source.

A canonical tag (aka "rel canonical") is a way of telling search engines that a specific URL represents the master copy of a page. Using the canonical tag prevents problems caused by identical or "duplicate" content appearing on multiple URLs.

I would rather have Google see my WordPress site as the original source of syndicated posts, and Steemit original posts should have Canonical set as Steemit.

What do you think? Is this making my Steemit content compete with my WordPress site? Is there a way to change that? Please share your thoughts in the comments ...

Sort:  

To the question in your title, my Magic 8-Ball says:

Signs point to yes

Hi! I'm a bot, and this answer was posted automatically. Check this post out for more information.

vote back guys :D

Wondering the same things. I'm working to get syndication setup now, but wondering if it's worth it.

Hi, I see this post is already two years old however the answer to your question is still relevant to me. So my question to you (or anyone else reading this) did you find an answer in the meantime?And if so would you mind sharing it? Thanks

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 65989.03
ETH 2622.29
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.65