Do you want Steemit Kardashians? That's how you get Kardashians

in #steemit6 years ago

kardashians.png

I am following with interest the idea of one person one vote on the platform, and I have one challenge I see with it that I hope @ned and the other wizards of Steem have taken into account.

Steemit as Popularity Contest

While I understand many people feel that money has distorted the trending content, changing to a popularity contest also distorts the sorting.

  • What is popular is not necessarily correlated with quality or worthwhile content.
  • Controversial content or polarizing content is prized by certain "in" groups and abhorrent to outsiders
  • Value is subjective, and on a sliding scale, whereas one person one vote implies all votes are equally weighted.

Slicing, dicing and sorting

My guess is there will be multiple options for sorting, multiple services with their own UI, but the default is often what most people first encounter and stick with.

What do you think?

Sort:  

I have some doubts that the one person one vote thing will work...
I guess it would be way to easy just to buy likes/votes just as it is today on other platforms like Instagram. I have the feeling that Instagram, Facebook and so on are actually more successful because they have a personalized feed of content.
If Steemit is switching to a person based system, people will just buy votes and not upvotes from a bot. Even if it means that there will be 500 Indonesian people creating new accounts and voting "genuinely".

Yeah already on fiverr and other exchanges you can buy "legitimate" Amazon reviews, where the stakes are much higher

To listen to the audio version of this article click on the play image.

Brought to you by @tts. If you find it useful please consider upvote this reply.

This is an interesting post. I think content is important when it comes to a platform like this. Especially when there is money involved. Anyone can post a funny picture. I've done it. But I also want good content as well. I want to be able to contribute content that will engage readers so that I can have meaningful conversations and meet people with similar interests and not make money by just being popular. Very nice post and nice concept! I hope that this doesn't turn into a K show!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 61361.03
ETH 2932.71
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.67