You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: HOW DO I GET A WHALE TO NOTICE ME?

in #steemit7 years ago

I get what you are saying brother but sometimes you need some kind of feedback to tell you that you are on the right track you know. for example I found your article today through google as I searched how to get noticed by whales because I had written a really good article that frustratingly enough only got 2 upvotes after pouring my soul into it

Sort:  

Funny you should say that, I actually just wrote a post about this a couple of days ago. I think over the last 4 months I have only had one post that went over $5 so I'm not making any money on here either. I used to kill it and make $50 a post, but that slowly disappeared and now I make hardly anything. Maybe I need to be more strategic and start kissing people's arses. But that's not me. I like what I like and if it's good, I'll upvote it.

https://steemit.com/steemit/@lewisjfclarke/keep-posting-even-if-you-are-making-usd0-50-usd1-a-post

.
I completely understand where you are coming from though; it is so disheartening when you put so much effort into a post, and you look at comments that say 'good post' and they make eight dollars...

Try not to focus on that though. See this as a platform to meet people and if you make money, then it's a bonus :-)

You know what actually @lewisjfclarke, it has been 2 days since I wrote my first comment and I think I had a change in prespective in that period that I find really interesting. To be honest, I came here to make a few bucks at first (struggling med student and all that) but after writing a few good articles and planning to write multiple more and comming up ideaa for blog series and such, I started liking it for the heck of it. It gives me a chance to really shape and articulate my thoughts (if you get what I am trying to say) Its like taking this big stone of raw ideas and carving a sculpted post out of it.

Looking back I wouldnt of really invested time doing that if there wasnt a potential monetary payout at first, but know that I am into it, money is a secondary bounce (a very nice bounce, but a secondary bounce).

I will give your article a read by the way and tell you what I think

That is the best way to look at it. Steemit is designed like a pyramid scheme (As horrific as that sounds) where the people who got in early make shit tons of cash while the others are playing catch up. The only difference is if you get lucky you can also make some cash yourself (I'm sure you've noticed some people have an upvote worth $100. I once posted a review for one of my books and I had one upvote and $93)

A friend of mine said the best way to look at it is think of Steemit as Facebook but you can get paid. It's a very simplistic way of looking at it but there is also a valid point there. You use Facebook for free, so use Steemit like you would Facebook and if some random whale spunks all over you then consider that an added bonus to something you were gonna do for free anyway...

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.031
BTC 60728.44
ETH 2653.23
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.59