Steemit: Quick Tips To Help You Get Started If You Just Joined

in #steemit7 years ago (edited)


Earn While You Learn
Since I invited some friends to signup, I better share some quick tips that will help them, and maybe some of you, get started, so you can earn while you learn!

First, I'd like to thank the following members for inspiring this post: Please be sure to follow @rebeccaryan for real advice. I'm just starting out. You should also check out this post by @vegansilverstack and follow @shayne. His videos are highly informative.

Jump In. The Waters Fine!
You signed up. You're confirmed and now you're here. If you're ready to say hello and post a quick bio, use the tag "introduceyourself" for your post. The first tag cannot be changed, so all your posts should be tagged properly. Something that I always mess up.

To Create Content
Click "Submit A Story" on the top right or wherever it is on your laptop, phone or device. You might need to click the drop down menu on top to find it.

Your Story
Your layout or page design matters. Good pictures matter and your first pic in each post will show up in the feed next to your story. Your grammar and spelling also matters, and neatness counts, as well. A messy post rarely gets a lot of "Upvotes." You can also learn markdown to add links, bold headings, italics, etc. It's very simple. I used a blog site to create my first few posts. Big waste of time. It's much easier to use Steemit.

This Might Help

See below:

Want to add your video?
You can make an "introduceyourself" video to add to your post. Record it. Upload it (to YouTube or Vimeo), copy the embed code and paste it into your Steemit story.

Be Original
Create your own designs or animated gifs if you can. If not, I can help. I'm cheap and easy. haha. There are also several meme maker sites out there. Incredibly, some funny memes here generate $50 or more. Still, Steemit is a bloggers dream come true. So write. Write about whatever you love and feel passionate about. Whether it is crypto-related, music, movies, comic books, Star Wars, food, fashion, art...did I say music? :-) Just do it. Bring your best. This site is not "money for nothing". Most (not all) people who earn good money here have built a strong following on other sites and here, as well. So don't expect any money at first. If it comes, that's awesome too!

Are you ready to publish your first story? If so, here are a few more tips. If everything looks correct, click "POST".

Excited? I am. You just published your introduction, now what?

Make Friends
We call them followers here just like Twitter. But you will earn rewards the more you interact with other people here. Most will follow you back if you let them know you followed them.
You can create the best blog or photo ever, but without followers not many will see it, usually. I noticed if you have about 350 followers or so, you will see a steady stream of income. So don't get discouraged. I just reached 100 followers today. Give it time.

Upvote
Upvote on all the posts you find interesting. A good rule of thumb is to Upvote about 20 to 30 times a day.

Wait. What Are Upvotes?
Upvoting is similar to liking a picture on Facebook, except you may get rewarded here. The more you get, the more rewards you will earn. You will notice some users have more Upvote power than others. You will too. In time, you will go from being a minnow to a whale. Can't wait? Invite all your friends to join. Bring in your own followers.

Comment
Unlike most other "social" sites where people rarely comment anymore, commenting is expected here. The bonus is you will be rewarded if people like your comments. A meaningful or funny comment is worth something on Steemit.

Be Patient
Something I have been trying to practice a lot lately. :-) Keep learning how this site works. The search engine is great. Use it! The more you learn, the more you will earn. If you get overwhelmed (and you probably will), take a break. Meditate. Cut back on the caffeine (yeah right!).

Steemit is like a video game. The more you use it, the more you will be rewarded. Steemit requires effort and energy to succeed. You determine what success means to you.

FAQ and Start Guide
Be sure to read or skim through the Quick Start Guide, but don't be afraid to ask for assistance. Most people here will be more than happy to share their knowledge with you. This is a community and the people I have met are friendly. Be friendly. :-)

Coming Up Soon: You've Got Money
Yeehaaa! You earned some coin and now you want to shop. You can exchange your Steem Backed Dollars (SBD) for Bitcoin with Changelly or another service. You can also keep it and invest in Steem, of course! I'll try to walk you through all that in a future post. Again, please follow the members I mentioned above. If you do, I bet by next week, most of you newbies I invited will be teaching me how to use Steemit! :-)

free stock photo piggy bank.jpg
Free stock photo from pexels

I really hope this post helps you to start earning some digital cash right now.
HAVE FUN!
Mitch

steemit footer 2017 may.jpg

Sort:  

Thank you for your support of the platform. Keep inviting and teaching new users and we can make this platform go far!

This place is great. Thank you!!

And thank you! Great work.

Thanks so much for the info. In the process of soaking up all the informational/inspirational content I can. Love the work of @rebeccaryan and @shayne. I'll now check out @vegansilverstack. Enjoyed the read and will follow :)

Followed you back. Thank you. :-)

Always interested in "howtos" & guides on this platform since I'm new to it myself. And this is one of the best - Thanks Mitch! Certainly worth an upvote, re-steem and here's my recommendation comment: Learn while having fun everyone!

Thank you so much..wow. And yes, gotta have FUN!

Totally agree, having followers appears to be the best way to have the exposure, after 30 mins or so your posts are not really visible unless trending. An intro is also essential, in theory like minded people should follow you after reading your intro.

It's a good theory! I'm still learning. It's gonna take me a couple of months to figure this out haha

This post was excellent! Well.. until you said cut back on the caffeine! Ahhhhhh! Life would be OVER!!! Haha This has truly helped me and I look forward to the one on the money part of it. I am totally confused by all of it. There is so much to learn! BTW, I followed you and the others you mentioned.

Omg I can't even imagine life without caffeine right meow haha

Followed you back, as well

Upvoted
resteem

i learned from this post hehe

Glad to help! I've made a lot of mistakes...so I thought this might help new users avoid making the same mistakes I did :-)

Well, minnows like me appreciate it much!

Great job @magick323! Thanks for the shout-out I appreciated it and I am honoured to be mentioned. ;)

Thanks for your tips/help so far!

You're welcome! 😊

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63490.29
ETH 2598.32
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.78