You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Yet Another Attempt At Perspective

in #steemit6 years ago

Have we given up on that dream already, just two years in? Are we already looking for the next best thing?

Those are really good questions Glen, considering that it seems the general norm to give up when things get a big harder. I was just telling @gillianpearce here that I've been having a bit of a down week, not really sure why, probably just everything in general, but it sure affects my steemit activity. I'm sure I'll shake it off soon enough, but I do know it has nothing to do with the drop in prices etc here. I just keep doing my thing and view this like my other long term financial investments: things go up and down but hopefully over the long run, the general direction is up.

Sort:  

This is going to sound weird, but I've been experiencing the exact same thing. I was kind of okay for most of Monday, but then Tuesday came along and I didn't get any posts up. Tried to kickstart on Wednesday and was only part way successful, and then yesterday came along and I completely just avoided it all. I know it's not the STEEM prices. I know it has something to do with my wife and her desire that I do something else, but I don't think that's all of it. I think it's a general malaise, an apathy towards what I've been doing and trying to accomplish, and maybe extending beyond my scope or ability to control. It's hard to post when you think you're doing it to the void. I've seen a retreat in the amounts on my posts, too, impart because of STEEM price, but also because fewer people are seeing them or upvoting.

So, anyway, trying to find ways to keep people going here but there's not much I can do about it either way. :)

hmm that is weird. The funny thing is, my last two posts have been successful, and one even got a visit from curie, but (and this is obviously NOT a complaint), but both posts are not what I consider 'that good'. It's all weird maybe and not what I expected. But yes, a general feeling of malaise. I chalked it up to a week of straight rain here, but it's been sunny for a few days now and it hasn't really changed my lack of 'get up and go'. Maybe we just need this little break? I have noticed less people around though, that's for sure. I keep saying to Brian, "there's not much going on here today". Maybe it's just summer and we're the only ones who haven't figured out to just go outside :)

So your wife is not impressed with your time/investment vs. financial success here? What would she rather you be doing, if I may ask?

Making at least $15 an hour and bringing home a paycheck at least once a month. :) After that, I don't think it really matters, although, I need to take time off when she wants me, too, and of course, somehow be around for all of the other occasional things that she's gotten used to me taking care of during the day because I've been around to do it for, oh, the last 18 years or so. :)

I've been looking, but so far, not found that magical mix. It probably needs to be something I can do from home, and while those kinds of jobs have improved over the last few years, it's still a grab bag. A lot of 'survey' type jobs for every two or three jobs that actually pay by the hour or by the project.

Well, sometimes I think the way curie works is more cumulative than it is per post. Since their policy is not to upvote the same creator every day or even every week, you're fortunate to see something within a three week to month period of time. And then you can get skipped. Plus they don't curate all the posts that can be found on Steemit due to their subject matter. So, while it's a human curator selecting the post, and then a review taking place, there's always the chance that they're looking at the body of the work.

As it is, though, that post you're talking about, even if you didn't think of it as some of your best work, or even that good, period, was still better than what else passes for good content here.

So, I guess we take what comes our way with the desire to improve and get better, knowing that curie isn't going to hit us every time we post a masterpiece. :)

haha that may be a difficult job to find :) Have you ever considered teaching ESL/English online? There are some legit websites, the pay isn't great sometimes, but the more you do, the more you're paid kind of thing. You simply have to factor in the time change because most are from China. I know you're not a teacher, but some companies make concessions and due to your "linguistic" background, it might work. Just a thought.

When Brian got progressively more sick, and I needed to be around him physically due to the seizures, I looked into online work as well. There's sure a lot of bs ads out there, isn't there? Lots of survey stuff, but I do know of someone who "says" he makes good money on those. Personally, I never trusted them (the sites and him to be perfectly honest:)

Have you taken a "paycheck" from here at all?

Not yet. Price of STEEM has been all over the place so that's been a factor, plus, I feel like if I take out earnings now, I'm going to seriously hamper my ability to make more, considering how pitiful my upvotes are again thanks to the decline. Back in April it went much farther than it has since.

All the survey things I got into promised something, but then ended up being an awards system rather than money. So of the couple dozen surveys I took before I stopped, I haven't seen a dime.

The best online work I've seen is medical coding, but I haven't pursued it yet. The last one I saw required some kind of certification that I didn't know about on top of the training they would be giving for the coding.

I need to get a little more specific with my searches and see what I can find. There's surely got to be something out there that pays okay and might actually be worth my time.

There's surely got to be something out there that pays okay and might actually be worth my time.

When you find it, let me know :)

Have you pubished your books to Kindle etc. yet @glenalbrethsen?

I now a few people who have done very well from that when they followed a specific marketing plan. Your background in internet marketing should help there. I wouldn't take much to research the best way to go about it.

As for the malaise, that's the perfect word to describe it. It's a combination of things for me. Good weather outside, lower engagement, really low payouts, the nasty incident, more and more people "disappearing".

Today it felt like I had to drag myself here.

But I'm off out with the grandkids soon so will focus on that.

No doubt all of us will return to our former enthusiastic selves at some point! 😍

I have two Kindle ebooks currently available. The first was published in 2012 and the second in 2013.

Oh, and I've researched all kinds of marketing plans. I don't doubt they may have worked for the person who wrote about them, or maybe even helped out a few more. However, they are not one size fits all, and none of them really did much for me. The problem is marketing becomes more time consuming and important than the actual writing.

I had a decent day yesterday, finally. I'm not sure how today is going to go. It feels like it could swing one way or the other at this point.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 60045.81
ETH 2420.35
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43