You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: The Beginner's Guide to Steemit, Part 1: Steemit Quick-Start Guide

in #steemit6 years ago

Hey nice work here @ethandsmith! I was just talking with @plushzilla and he told me about your work on the guides and then funny enough I was just commenting on one of @goldendawne's post and saw you there as well! So this is all rather serendipitous!

@plushzilla said that he thought that I

could provide some pointers for how to make the process better for some of the people who do struggle, that would also make a big impact too :)

I am a member of @newbieresteem (a group that focuses their energy on welcoming, supporting, educating and mentoring new and not-so-new folks) and @asapers member (also focused on quality content and helping out new folks) and both have Discord channels (which I would love for you to add to your list). I focus on watching for those who struggle by reading between the lines on their commenting. Although many come right out to say they're frustrated or not understanding things, some are little less forthcoming. My background is in Education (English/History/Special Needs Teacher) and Psychology/Sociology. So I've started with this post stressing the importance of genuine commenting to develop relationships, and will go from there. Because I tend to comment a lot on others posts, I've started randomly finding more and more people that way. When I find 'them' I like to help support them and point them in several different helpful directions, one of those being our @newbieresteemday family, but also to links such as your here!

So thank you for this and all the selfless work you are doing for this community!

Cheers!

Sort:  

Hey there @lynncoyle1! Thank you so much for taking the time to respond to this post.

@goldendawne is a great user to know, so I'm glad you were able to connect the dots from her post to mine as you've gone about commenting.

I am planning to do a section about engagement, as I, too, believe it's one of the greatest paths to success on the platform. I appreciate you letting me know about your two initiatives. I'll be checking them out, and I will be sure to include them when I do a more in-depth look at Steemit communities.

It's great to be able to collaborate and point people to further resources that they may explore when joining Steemit for the first time. I really do appreciate your feedback. I hope you'll follow the rest of the series and let me know what you think! I hope resources like this will help you onboard new users more smoothly.

I'm always on the lookout for great resources to provide to new users, so I appreciate you providing the link to your post about genuine commenting. That will be very helpful.

Thanks again!

Oh it's my pleasure! Thank you for doing so much of the work here for me ;)

I'm glad you'll be 'checking out' the two initiatives too; I'm confident you will appreciate what they are doing. A third one that I forgot to mention is fairly new, called @greetersguild. They do a great job greeting and educating new users as well; and I'm involved with all three and am happy to say that we are all working together cooperatively, because it is such a nice fit.

You're welcome about the link to my post too. I will be happy to watch out for your continued series and give you my thoughts.

It really does take a village :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.11
JST 0.030
BTC 69048.48
ETH 3765.33
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.43