You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Mmmm Yeah Baby, Put It In My Reward Pool

in #steemit6 years ago

I like your take in this whole heajin berniesanders flag war BS.

I think those getting all worked up about it are just wasting everyone's time and making steemit look bad.

But i don't think Steemit is a purely capitalistic system. It has elements of a gift economy like the American Indians had.

In my experience paying it forward and building value for others has worked very well for me. I run a contest called Open Mic on Steemit. It helps musicians get their music heard and it's a huge community on the platform. People play their music and get upvoted and exposure.

I upvote them and build value for them, not myself. As a result i get followed upvoted and rewarded.

Why? Because it helps others.

And yes, it is a lot of work. I'm definitely putting the work in.

The wealthiest people in any business got that way by helping others, not by helping themselves. Their wealth is just a result of that.

In my view, I don't have the time to get involved in flag war BS because I'm too busy working to build the Open Mic community on Steemit and creating value here to get sidetracked in who is earning rewards and how.

To me that whole discussion is a luxury for those who have nothing to contribute and they are, as you say, just jealous.

Sort:  

Well said man. We do need to take time to discuss the bad stuff on the blockchain. It is necessary as the people are supposed to govern this system. However, continious ranting to me is useless. I do think it is important to keep discussing, but I am getting a head ache to all the childish stuff we see out there, that I don't even want to start getting in all that shit. I just focuss on doing what I think is right.

"The wealthiest people in any business got that way by helping others, not by helping themselves. Their wealth is just a result of that."

I don't mean to be a pain in the ass, but I look at a worldwide rich list of mostly corrupt bankers, politicians, and corporate thieves, and I have to ask if you have a citation on this one besides it feeling good to say it, in a sort of "happy ending" kind of way?

How much are Apple's Foxconn Chinese Factory workers paid again? Can we get that number in "fractions of the cost of one factiory anti-suicide net"?

Pro comment

This is why I call you Senpai.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.25
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 63006.70
ETH 3075.91
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.82