Sort:  

The reading tests typically gauge quantitative metrics like word and sentence length. They say nothing of the complexity of the ideas contained within. Dr Seuss could have written the white paper and it would still take several readings to grasp the content. That's not to say articles shouldn't aim for clarity of expression; I think they should. I also tend to favour simple writing than "high-brow" academic tomes.

BUT

Using everyday language tends to require more words from the author to get the same idea across (because phrases replace jargon and lots of metaphors, visual imagery and the like are used to explain ideas). In academic circles, this type of writing is often dismissed as "unscientific" or "too informal" (I have had papers rejected citing this very thing).

SO

On the one hand, I can fully appreciate why the white paper is written the way it was and I can also appreciate OPs frustration as a 2nd-language English speaker. That's why I think a simplified companion piece would be very helpful.

The thing is I'm hearing all around me it's better than Facebook...

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 60748.61
ETH 2912.73
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.36