Why Do Steemit Notifications Stop Working?steemCreated with Sketch.

in #steemit7 years ago (edited)

EDIT: Notifications are back! (But where did they go and why?)

Has anyone else noticed this?


It seems to happen off and on. I wrote it off as a random quirk the last time it happened, but I seem to notice it more now. A social media site is much less engaging without those little red notifications to keep feeding our addiction and let us know about new replies and posts from those we follow. What's the deal?

I thought it might be something on my browser, but I also noticed the same thing on my phone:

IMG_7341.jpg

I searched the Github repo to see if there was an open issue about this, but didn't find anything. Anyone know what's up? I asked in steemspeak.com and seemit.chat and didn't get an answer so I'm posting here.

Little inconsistencies like this can frustrate users and hinder growth.

I'm also just really curious what would make it stop and why it starts back up again. :)

If anyone's got the down low, let us know.

Sort:  

There is currently 10 issues with the site, promote, json showing in wallet, delays on comments showing on in profile feed, and more.

Something is going wrong, it happens. I think this will be fixed soon.

notifications are back now

Yes, they do!

I thought it might just be my browser coz noone else was saying anything about it. Glad you did!

It looks like a few things may have been broken. The promote button is missing again too which happened a couple of months ago.

Huh, interesting. Was there a new front-end rollout? Maybe this release from two days ago broke something? https://github.com/steemit/steem/releases/tag/v0.16.4

He won't be notified. Heheh. ;-)

He might be using a third party notification service though. Many are.

like steemwatch?

I certainly do 😉

Looks like they're back 🙂

And they are back :-)!

I noticed this too and only realised when I went to my replies tab and found a heap of people I had not responded too. I am sure it will be addressed soon. :)

On my post from a few days ago I desktop and mobile notifications were working fine. On my post from today I haven't seen any notifications despite getting a few replies. So yea, it doesn't work consistently for me either. I don't know why.

I get this too. Strangely enough the gone notifications often come back when I click on a link. They reappear when I come back to the site clicking on the reverse arrow (when I followed a link leading outside the network) or when I end up on another post.

Edit: I just tried both maneuvers (going outside and inside the network), and both didn't work. When I logged in tonight before commenting I had no notifications. More often than not notifications don't work when I log in.

No reply notifications in the last 24 hours. No promote button and... no bots ^__^

I thought it was my internet connection.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 66394.28
ETH 3309.98
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.70